file Fear of Mekhet and torpor

08 Jan 2021 18:47 #101389 by Snodig
Fear of Mekhet:

Put this card on a ready justicar or Inner Circle member and lock them. During this vampire's unlock phase, they burn 5 blood. If they cannot burn the blood, they are burned; otherwise, their controller moves this card to another justicar or Inner Circle member, or burns this card if there are no others.


Can Fear of Mekhet move to a vampire that is in torpor?
Older wording of the card seems to suggest it was not possible before Anarchs, but it changed to include "any" rather than "another", and lost the text that implied it burns if "no other ready" targets are available.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Snodig
  • Snodig's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Methuselah
  • Methuselah
  • Prince of Kristiansund, Norway
More
08 Jan 2021 23:07 - 09 Jan 2021 22:21 #101390 by inm8
Replied by inm8 on topic Fear of Mekhet and torpor
As per the older wording one wasn’t able to pass it on to a justicar either until the Anarchs change as well.

Just by the text I would say that one was always able to pass it on to another IC member regardless of if it being ready or in torpor.

Current text has removed the reference to “ready” in the last part of the text but it is still there on the initial requirement for target which still lends itself to the confusion/question at hand.

Just by text the initial target has to be ready and the target that one can pass it on to just have to be in play...effectively having different requirements for finding a valid target.

A ruling not aligned with the above would be more confusing and would be good to consider a text change aligned with such ruling.
Last edit: 09 Jan 2021 22:21 by inm8.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
08 Jan 2021 23:40 #101391 by Snodig
Replied by Snodig on topic Fear of Mekhet and torpor
Well, it's already causing some confusion.
"any" was better than "another".

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Snodig
  • Snodig's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Methuselah
  • Methuselah
  • Prince of Kristiansund, Norway
More
08 Jan 2021 23:41 #101392 by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic Fear of Mekhet and torpor

Snodig wrote: Fear of Mekhet:

Put this card on a ready justicar or Inner Circle member and lock them. During this vampire's unlock phase, they burn 5 blood. If they cannot burn the blood, they are burned; otherwise, their controller moves this card to another justicar or Inner Circle member, or burns this card if there are no others.


Can Fear of Mekhet move to a vampire that is in torpor?

Yes.

Snodig wrote: Older wording of the card seems to suggest it was not possible before Anarchs, but it changed to include "any" rather than "another", and lost the text that implied it burns if "no other ready" targets are available.

Do you mean Camarilla Edition?
Since CE, it is movable to a vampire in torpor, including a Justicar.

vtes.pl/card/Camarilla-Edition/Fear-of-Mekhet/41496

inm8 wrote: As per the older wording one wasn’t able to pass it on to a justicar either until the Anarchs change as well.

Camarilla Edition.

inm8 wrote: Current text has removed the reference to “ready” in the last part of the text but it is still there on the initial requirement for target which still lends itself to the confusion/question at hand.

Just by text the initial target has to be ready and the target that one can pass it on to just have to be in play...effectively having different requirements for finding a valid target.

Correct. Just like Derange must be played on a younger vampire, but can be moved to any other vampire afterwards (non-Malk, non-Malk antitribu).

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
The following user(s) said Thank You: Snodig

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
09 Jan 2021 01:02 - 09 Jan 2021 01:06 #101393 by Snodig
Replied by Snodig on topic Fear of Mekhet and torpor

Ankha wrote: Do you mean Camarilla Edition?
Since CE, it is movable to a vampire in torpor, including a Justicar.

vtes.pl/card/Camarilla-Edition/Fear-of-Mekhet/41496


Well, yes and no.
The "ready" part of the otherwise-clause was removed later than CE.
Last edit: 09 Jan 2021 01:06 by Snodig. Reason: Messed up the hyperlink

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Snodig
  • Snodig's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Methuselah
  • Methuselah
  • Prince of Kristiansund, Norway
More
09 Jan 2021 08:15 #101394 by inm8
Replied by inm8 on topic Fear of Mekhet and torpor

Ankha wrote:
Since CE, it is movable to a vampire in torpor, including a Justicar.


My source for saying Anarchs and not CE was Amaranths “card changes” tab not actually knowing the source of it... is there an official place where one can find the card text history of cards?

Are you saying it wasn’t always movable to IC members in torpor? If you are why not?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.104 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum