file Paths and burn blood requrement

18 Feb 2021 14:06 #101651 by Kirill
I read and have a question
"
Requirements for Playing Cards (p. 7)
Unless explicitly stated, costs you pay must be paid with resources you control: your pool, blood on vampires you control, cards in your ash heap, etc. For instance, you cannot play Enticement if you do not control the Edge, since you must burn it as part of its cost."

If "burn Edge to" is part of cost Enticement, "burn blood to" is part of cost of Form of Mist or Army of Apparition and can be reduced by Paths?
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Feb 2021 07:18 - 19 Feb 2021 12:41 #101660 by Tadori
No because is not a card cost. its a part of card effect(effect cost). Paths can only reduce cards cost and its represented as a blood drop icon on the card, everything else is not considered a card cost.

Edit. I meant card cost
Last edit: 19 Feb 2021 12:41 by Tadori.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Feb 2021 07:50 #101662 by lip
Replied by lip on topic Paths and burn blood requrement
I think it is a cost. But it’s not the cost of the card, it’s the cost of an effect so is not reduced by paths. See maybe this ruling:

>Is the 2 blood the cost for playing superior Shadow Step? If so, can
>it be reduced by the Citadel or ignored by Dragos? If not, can a vampire
>with 0 blood use the effect (ignoring burn blood effects past his current
>blood supply?)

No. It is the cost for setting the range. Shadow Step (superior) merely
grants the vampire the (mandatory) ability to use that effect. The cost
cannot be reduced by the Citadel nor ignored by Dragos, since it is not
the cost of playing a card. A vampire with zero blood cannot pay the cost,
so cannot set the range.


[LSJ 19970224](groups.google.com/d/msg/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/80KRDjVFkyg/TBJso9Ra_9QJ)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Feb 2021 07:59 - 19 Feb 2021 10:09 #101663 by elotar
Where it the rules is stated that while "burn edge to..." is cost, "burn blood to..." is not?

Actually ...

"A number in a red drop represents blood cost (the amount of blood the vampire must burn)."

...so it is stated in the rulebook that cost="burn blood".

;)

:splat: NC Russia
:DEM::san::nec::cap4:
Last edit: 19 Feb 2021 10:09 by elotar.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Feb 2021 11:47 #101665 by Kirill
So cost = "burn blood" => Paths works? If "burn blood" isn't same as "burn edge" why Black Chantry write "part of cost" and not "part of requirement"?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Feb 2021 12:21 - 19 Feb 2021 12:51 #101666 by Tadori

elotar wrote: Where it the rules is stated that while "burn edge to..." is cost, "burn blood to..." is not?

Actually ...

"A number in a red drop represents blood cost (the amount of blood the vampire must burn)."

...so it is stated in the rulebook that cost="burn blood".

;)


"A number in a red drop represents blood cost (the amount of blood the vampire must burn). Only a vampire with enough blood on them can play a card with a blood cost"

Rulebook states that card cost is represent by a blood icon. Burning blood is an means(effect) of paying cost and not the cost itself. Anything else is not considered a card cost.

There is a difference in VTES between a cost of an effect and cost of playing a card.

- You can't play a card if you can't pay a card cost
- You can play a card if you can pay a card cost and you are not able to pay an effect cost. In this case the part of an effect that is price gated will not trigger

Paths refer to card cost not effect cost

@lip I should have clarified, I meant card cost in my previous post.
Last edit: 19 Feb 2021 12:51 by Tadori.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.181 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum