file Avatars and NSFW Material

08 Dec 2010 02:40 #126 by Juggernaut1981
Hey guys,
Just as a thought, I access the net for VTES related stuff mostly at work. I am a teacher and Australia has some fairly harsh penalties for certain things surrounding teachers. One of them is basically around "Not Safe For Work"-type material. If I had a student even catch a glimpse of some of the Avatars I've already spotted, I could get fired through these laws and not be able to be employed as a teacher in Australia. I am not saying that WILL happen, but it's a possible outcome.

So I'd appreciate it if we could clearly agree from the start that NSFW-type images will be very limited and out of Avatars?

:bruj::CEL::POT::PRE::tha: Baron of Sydney, Australia, 418

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
08 Dec 2010 07:46 #127 by jhattara
Let us know what avatars you find offensive and if possible a reference to the Australian law on that matter. This subject has to be discussed among the Administrators and the Inner Circle, but we certainly don't want any of the users of this site to get into trouble. But you must be aware that a significant portion of the game material itself can also be considered NSFW.

:splat: Jussi Hattara :splat:
:vtes: Webmaster Extraordinaire :vtes:
Finnish :POT: Politics!

More
08 Dec 2010 20:16 #133 by Juggernaut1981
Children and Young Persons (Care and Protection) Act 1998
www.austlii.edu.au/au/legis/nsw/consol_act/caypapa1998442/

This is the act itself. For Government Teachers the requirements are placed significantly higher and are hired through a single, state-wide agency. AFAIK if you have a record of breaching the 'Child Protection Act' you will find it basically impossible to get employment with any organisation that deals regularly with under 18s.