file Time for negotiation after playing a card before terms are set

14 May 2014 10:32 #62355 by Juggernaut1981
Says the man who sent Cease & Desist orders...

My Blog juggernaut1981.blogspot.com/
My Dowloads Page sites.google.com/site/juggernaut1981svtesdownloads/home
:bruj::CEL::POT::PRE::tha: Prince of Castle Hill, NSW Australia, 418
Bleed like you're juggling chainsaws...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 May 2014 11:56 #62357 by Suoli

Pendargon wrote: That kind of logic is completely wrong.
Following that, nowhere does it say
: While playing master cards, please DO NOT debate it, DO NOT fart, pick your nose, dribble spit all over it, call other players rude names, toss paper rolls on them, DO NOT jump on the playing surface to dance Macarena or headbang to imaginary powermetal while pretending to play air-guitar.

Rules are not written to EXCLUDE things. THey are written in a way to tell you what and how to do , no more no less.
So, announce you are playing a card, announce terms, pay, wrap it up and move along.

Because, following your logic, it would be completely legal to say : " I will play Pentex subversin * show card, place on table*, but to determine on who i will put it on, i will assign a random number to each ready minion on the table, and then proceed to roll d20 to see who gets the pentex"

It is stupid and silly.


The following are not explicitly allowed, disallowed or demanded by the rulebook:
  • Negotiating while playing a card
  • Negotiating while playing a ukulele
  • Transmitting neural impulses while playing a card
  • Blowing air through your larynx while playing a card

This list is not conclusive. The same can be said about the rulebook. The question of whether you're allowed to negotiate while playing a card can't be reasonably resolved by interpreting the rulebook. It's purely a matter of convention.

In a highly political multiplayer game such as V:TES, it's reasonable to argue that allowing some amount of negotiation while announcing plays is in the spirit of the game. It's also reasonable to argue that such negotiations should occur before the play.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 May 2014 13:12 #62360 by johannes

Jeff Kuta wrote:

Pascal Bertrand wrote: Dealing isn't allowed when announcing stuff ;)

Juggernaut? Johannes? Why are you still arguing this point?

Because it´s fun!
The following user(s) said Thank You: Juggernaut1981

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 May 2014 15:01 #62366 by Lemminkäinen
Where does the rulebook tell you that you're allowed to deal while holding cards in your hand? Maybe you can't? Or where does the rulebook tell you that you're allowed to deal at all? Maybe Silence of Death is the only allowed play format but no one realized this until now?

I fully agree with Suoli on this.

Jeff Kuta wrote:

Pascal Bertrand wrote: Dealing isn't allowed when announcing stuff ;)


Juggernaut? Johannes? Why are you still arguing this point?

Dig up.

Why the devil did you leave out the other part of the quote? The "in the mean time" part that means that Pascal is thinking about it? That's really dishonest of you.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 May 2014 15:55 #62370 by Brum
Actually, 1.6 of the Rulebook is very clear:
You play a card by showing it to the other players and stating its effects while you doing this.

No negotiation can occur because that would interrupt this process.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Pendargon

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 May 2014 03:06 #62389 by Lemminkäinen

Brum wrote: Actually, 1.6 of the Rulebook is very clear:
You play a card by showing it to the other players and stating its effects while you doing this.

No negotiation can occur because that would interrupt this process.

It doesn't say that - it says something that has been directly quoted to this thread already and that people have been debating over. Saying it in a different way that leaves no doubt but isn't an accurate representation of what the rulebook says is not helpful.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Squidalot, Juggernaut1981

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.143 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum