As we have already made public, The Camarilla Edition introduces a hundred (100) new vampires. Ninety (90) of these vampires are Camarilla, fifteen (15) in each of the clans: Brujah, Malkavian, Nosferatu, Toreador, Tremere, and Ventrue. This new influx of vampires, no matter how well balanced individually, could give too much power to Camarilla deck builders by increasing the selection of available vampires (making crypt selection more like building customized vampires). To ensure on-going play balance (for this set as well as future sets in which new vampires will appear), The Camarilla Edition introduces a new attribute, a number, on each vampire for grouping (shown just above the upper-left corner of the text area). Crypts must be built using only vampires from a single group or using only vampires from two consecutive groups. The group of a crypt card from previous sets with no group number is determined as follows. Cards from the 1994 and 1995 base sets (vampires with no expansion symbol in the upper right corner of the card) are Group 1, while cards from the expansions (Dark Sovereigns, Ancient Hearts, Sabbat, Sabbat War, Final Nights, and Bloodlines) are Group 2. So all of the decks built with those cards remain legal.

Players might confuse this with the way the DCI retires old cards sets for DCI Standard tournament play, (some other trading card games have done something similar as well) but the difference here is that all groups (all cards) are tournament legal - there is no phasing out of old cards, just segregation of groups.