Re: Strix superior and the edge		
	
	
			
	
						09 Dec 2011 18:54				#17899
		by Xaddam
	
	
		
			
					
Adam Esbjörnsson,
Prince of Örebro
					
	
			
			 		
													
		
	
				Strix superior and the edge was created by Xaddam			
			
				Methuselah A bleeds for 1, Methuselah B plays superior Strix. Does Methuselah A gain the edge?
Name: Strix
Cardtype: Reaction
Cost: 1 blood
Discipline: Striga
Burn Option
[str] +1 intercept, even if intercept is not yet needed. If this vampire successfully blocks this action, he or she untaps at the end of the action. [str] is not a Discipline.
[STR] Only usable when a bleed against you is successful. The bleed burns no pool. Instead, this vampire taps and enters combat with the acting minion.
From the rulebook section 6.1.1 Bleed:
"[...] Additionally, if the action succeeds and the bleed amount is one or more, then the bleed is successful and the controller of the acting minion gets the Edge, taking it from the Methuselah who has it."
							Name: Strix
Cardtype: Reaction
Cost: 1 blood
Discipline: Striga
Burn Option
[str] +1 intercept, even if intercept is not yet needed. If this vampire successfully blocks this action, he or she untaps at the end of the action. [str] is not a Discipline.
[STR] Only usable when a bleed against you is successful. The bleed burns no pool. Instead, this vampire taps and enters combat with the acting minion.
From the rulebook section 6.1.1 Bleed:
"[...] Additionally, if the action succeeds and the bleed amount is one or more, then the bleed is successful and the controller of the acting minion gets the Edge, taking it from the Methuselah who has it."
Adam Esbjörnsson,
Prince of Örebro
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
			
	
						09 Dec 2011 20:40				#17922
		by Ankha
	
	
		
			
				
IANPB but if the bleed was successful, it means the action succeeded and the bleed amount was 1 or more.
Then, the fact that the Methuselah burns no pool for that successful bleed doesn't mean the bleed is now unsuccessful.
The bleeding Methuselah gains the Edge.
							
					
	
			
			 		
													
		
	
				Replied by Ankha on topic Re: Strix superior and the edge			
			Methuselah A bleeds for 1, Methuselah B plays superior Strix. Does Methuselah A gain the edge?
Name: Strix
Cardtype: Reaction
Cost: 1 blood
Discipline: Striga
Burn Option
[str] +1 intercept, even if intercept is not yet needed. If this vampire successfully blocks this action, he or she untaps at the end of the action. [str] is not a Discipline.
[STR] Only usable when a bleed against you is successful. The bleed burns no pool. Instead, this vampire taps and enters combat with the acting minion.
From the rulebook section 6.1.1 Bleed:
"[...] Additionally, if the action succeeds and the bleed amount is one or more, then the bleed is successful and the controller of the acting minion gets the Edge, taking it from the Methuselah who has it."
IANPB but if the bleed was successful, it means the action succeeded and the bleed amount was 1 or more.
Then, the fact that the Methuselah burns no pool for that successful bleed doesn't mean the bleed is now unsuccessful.
The bleeding Methuselah gains the Edge.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
			
	
						10 Dec 2011 12:56				#17966
		by RaptorNut
	
	
		
			
	
			
			 		
													
		
	
				Replied by RaptorNut on topic Re: Strix superior and the edge			
			
				I am also not Pascal, but if no pool is lost during a bleed, then a bleed is not successful.  Meth A does NOT gain the edge - what he/she gains instead is a fight with Meth B's vampire.			
					Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
			
	
						10 Dec 2011 13:21				#17968
		by Haze
	
	
		
			
	
			
			 		
													
		
	
				Replied by Haze on topic Re: Strix superior and the edge			
			
				It's worded almost exactly like Spying Mission. you play it "when the bleed is successful" so it's after the opportunity to bounce, but suddenly it's not successful anymore because it's for 0. No edge gained.			
							
					Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
			
	
						10 Dec 2011 14:06				#17970
		by henrik
	
	
		
			
				
Superior Strix is only playable when the bleed is successful. And the rulebook says that the edge is moved when the bleed is successful (which is required for superior Strix to be played) and the bleed amount is for more than 0. Superior Strix has a different wording than superior Spying Mission in that Spying Mission actually states that the bleed is unsuccessful.
None of the cards actually reduce the bleed amount, but rather the amount of pool being burnt.
Spying Mission
Type: Action Modifier
Requires: Obfuscate
[obf] +1 stealth.
[OBF] Only usable when a bleed would be successful. The bleed burns no pool; it is unsuccessful. Instead, put this card on the acting vampire. The next time this vampire successfully bleeds the same Methuselah, burn this card for +2 bleed.
					
	
			
			 		
													
		
	
				Replied by henrik on topic Re: Strix superior and the edge			
			I am also not Pascal, but if no pool is lost during a bleed, then a bleed is not successful. Meth A does NOT gain the edge - what he/she gains instead is a fight with Meth B's vampire.
It's worded almost exactly like Spying Mission. you play it "when the bleed is successful" so it's after the opportunity to bounce, but suddenly it's not successful anymore because it's for 0. No edge gained.
Superior Strix is only playable when the bleed is successful. And the rulebook says that the edge is moved when the bleed is successful (which is required for superior Strix to be played) and the bleed amount is for more than 0. Superior Strix has a different wording than superior Spying Mission in that Spying Mission actually states that the bleed is unsuccessful.
None of the cards actually reduce the bleed amount, but rather the amount of pool being burnt.
Spying Mission
Type: Action Modifier
Requires: Obfuscate
[obf] +1 stealth.
[OBF] Only usable when a bleed would be successful. The bleed burns no pool; it is unsuccessful. Instead, put this card on the acting vampire. The next time this vampire successfully bleeds the same Methuselah, burn this card for +2 bleed.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
			
	
						10 Dec 2011 16:49		 -  10 Dec 2011 16:50		#17977
		by jamesatzephyr
	
	
		
			
				Scratch that.			
					
	
	
			 		
													
		
				Replied by jamesatzephyr on topic Re: Strix superior and the edge			
			
		Last edit: 10 Dec 2011 16:50  by jamesatzephyr.			
			Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- jamesatzephyr
 - 
				
											 - Offline
 - Antediluvian
 - 
				
			 
		Less
		More
		
			
	
		- Posts: 2788
 - Thank you received: 958
 
		Time to create page: 0.094 seconds	
- You are here:
 - 
											Home
					
											
							
						
										
				 - 
											Foro
					
											
							
						
										
				 - 
											V:TES Discussion
					
											
							
						
										
				 - 
											Rules Questions
					
											
							
						
										
				 - Re: Strix superior and the edge
 
											
						