Tribunal Judgment and cancelled votes		
	
	
			
	
						18 Oct 2013 21:28				#55457
		by Caballero
	
	
		
			
	
			
			 		
													
		
	
				Tribunal Judgment and cancelled votes was created by Caballero			
			
				Tribunal Judgment
[Political Action] Political Action
Requires a Sabbat vampire.
Choose a vampire who cast any votes in the most recent referendum (must be since your last turn). Successful referendum means that vampire takes X damage, where X is the number of votes he or she cast in that previous referendum.
If, during the last referendum, a vampire (eg: prince) cast his votes and then you cancelled those votes (say with Demonstration or Telepathic Vote Counting) does Tribunal Judgement deal any damage to that vampire?
					[Political Action] Political Action
Requires a Sabbat vampire.
Choose a vampire who cast any votes in the most recent referendum (must be since your last turn). Successful referendum means that vampire takes X damage, where X is the number of votes he or she cast in that previous referendum.
If, during the last referendum, a vampire (eg: prince) cast his votes and then you cancelled those votes (say with Demonstration or Telepathic Vote Counting) does Tribunal Judgement deal any damage to that vampire?
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
			
	
						19 Oct 2013 01:17				#55458
		by Robert Scythe
	
	
		
			
	
	
			 		
													
		
				Replied by Robert Scythe on topic Re: Tribunal Judgment and cancelled votes			
			
				I would say yes. In order to cancel votes they had to be cast in the first place.			
					
		The following user(s) said Thank You: Caballero 	
			Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- Robert Scythe
 - 
				
											 - Offline
 - Elder
 - 
				
			 
		Less
		More
		
			
	
		- Posts: 147
 - Thank you received: 38
 
			
	
						19 Oct 2013 13:12				#55462
		by jamesatzephyr
	
	
		
			
				
Instinctively, I would want to rule the other way, but can't find backing for either point of view.
My issue is with other cards that look at how the votes were cast, which - to me - generally appear to be saying "If the vampire/Methuselah was casting votes in such a way at the time of tallying, then..."
For example:
The "when votes are tallied" there appears to apply only to the timing of the pool burn. Would we say that a Methuselah who cast votes against the referendum but then had them changed in favour (or forced to abstain) would burn pool? It's arguable. Instinctively, I'd say we wouldn't - but for the life of me, I can't find anyone asking a specific-enough question along these lines about any relevant card - pretty much everything I can find is the other way round, such as "Does someone else forcing me to vote the wrong way mean I suffer the penalty of a card like Treachery?" See also Scorn of Adonis and Bribes.
Perhaps more relevantly (but also without apparent questions on this):
I would very much suspect that the intent is to only use the vampire's state of voting when results are tallied. If the Favor-user casts their votes in favour and is then subsequently forced to abstain or vote against, it would seem weird for the Favor to go in play.
But I can't find precedent.
					
	
	
			 		
													
		
				Replied by jamesatzephyr on topic Re: Tribunal Judgment and cancelled votes			
			I would say yes. In order to cancel votes they had to be cast in the first place.
Instinctively, I would want to rule the other way, but can't find backing for either point of view.
My issue is with other cards that look at how the votes were cast, which - to me - generally appear to be saying "If the vampire/Methuselah was casting votes in such a way at the time of tallying, then..."
For example:
Treachery -- Type: Reaction -- Discipline: Presence -- Cost: None
Only usable during a referendum before any votes and ballots are cast.
Only usable during a referendum before any votes and ballots are cast.
If the referendum passes, the controller of the vampire calling the referendum burns 1 pool.
As above, and any other Methuselahs who cast votes or ballots in favor of the referendum burn 1 pool when the votes are tallied.
The "when votes are tallied" there appears to apply only to the timing of the pool burn. Would we say that a Methuselah who cast votes against the referendum but then had them changed in favour (or forced to abstain) would burn pool? It's arguable. Instinctively, I'd say we wouldn't - but for the life of me, I can't find anyone asking a specific-enough question along these lines about any relevant card - pretty much everything I can find is the other way round, such as "Does someone else forcing me to vote the wrong way mean I suffer the penalty of a card like Treachery?" See also Scorn of Adonis and Bribes.
Perhaps more relevantly (but also without apparent questions on this):
King's Favor
This Guruhi gets 3 additional votes. If this Guruhi casts votes in favor, and the referendum passes by the number of votes this Guruhi cast or fewer, put this card in play.
This Guruhi gets 3 additional votes. If this Guruhi casts votes in favor, and the referendum passes by the number of votes this Guruhi cast or fewer, put this card in play.
I would very much suspect that the intent is to only use the vampire's state of voting when results are tallied. If the Favor-user casts their votes in favour and is then subsequently forced to abstain or vote against, it would seem weird for the Favor to go in play.
But I can't find precedent.
		The following user(s) said Thank You: Caballero 	
			Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- jamesatzephyr
 - 
				
											 - Offline
 - Antediluvian
 - 
				
			 
		Less
		More
		
			
	
		- Posts: 2788
 - Thank you received: 958
 
			
	
						19 Oct 2013 14:21				#55463
		by ReverendRevolver
	
	
		
			
	
	
			 		
													
		
				Replied by ReverendRevolver on topic Re: Tribunal Judgment and cancelled votes			
			
				This is rare. We normally have some aort of similar ruling.
Damn. Im at work, but my best idea is ask a magic 8 ball......(seriously. Buy one. Its a good edge....)
Id assume attempting to cast the votes counts. So id assume that cock robin would take 3, or 2 if hes wearing condemnation mute( hey, synergy.... sort of. Trade a damage for a burn a blood when it passes
  )
But cancelling the votes means he still tried. Abstaning is zero, but im gonna go with casting is casting. Same issue as bribes, right? If you get your votes negated, do you gain pool?
					Damn. Im at work, but my best idea is ask a magic 8 ball......(seriously. Buy one. Its a good edge....)
Id assume attempting to cast the votes counts. So id assume that cock robin would take 3, or 2 if hes wearing condemnation mute( hey, synergy.... sort of. Trade a damage for a burn a blood when it passes
But cancelling the votes means he still tried. Abstaning is zero, but im gonna go with casting is casting. Same issue as bribes, right? If you get your votes negated, do you gain pool?
		The following user(s) said Thank You: Caballero 	
			Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- ReverendRevolver
 - 
				
											 - Offline
 - Antediluvian
 - 
				
			 
		Less
		More
		
			
	
		- Posts: 2436
 - Thank you received: 407
 
			
	
						19 Oct 2013 17:45				#55466
		by AaronC
	
	
		
			
	
	
			 		
													
		
	
				Replied by AaronC on topic Re: Tribunal Judgment and cancelled votes			
			
				By the text of Tribunal Judgment, any casting of votes, regardless of whether they are cancelled, counts.
According to text, Bribes works the same way.
However, I agree with James that -intuitively- only votes that are part of the final tally should be counted.
From a management perspective, it seems easier to remember or record a vampire's ultimate vote in a referundum. A vampire could in theory vote for, against, and abstain all in the same referendum because of various effects, and it seems like too much of a pain to have to keep track of the entire history. It might already be hard to remember what the vampire's final vote was.
					According to text, Bribes works the same way.
However, I agree with James that -intuitively- only votes that are part of the final tally should be counted.
From a management perspective, it seems easier to remember or record a vampire's ultimate vote in a referundum. A vampire could in theory vote for, against, and abstain all in the same referendum because of various effects, and it seems like too much of a pain to have to keep track of the entire history. It might already be hard to remember what the vampire's final vote was.
		The following user(s) said Thank You: Caballero 	
			Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
			
	
						19 Oct 2013 23:16		 -  19 Oct 2013 23:20		#55470
		by Robert Scythe
	
	
		
			
				
I cannot see how it may be "hard to remember what the vampire's final vote was" when that tally is integral to the final outcome of the referendum, due to passing or not passing and Voter Capping, etc. Also, Tribunal Judgment does not seem to care if a vampire's vote casting was successful or not, just if it was cast at all.
My last sentence was redundant, I'm a little drunk, apologies.
					
	
	
			 		
													
		
				Replied by Robert Scythe on topic Re: Tribunal Judgment and cancelled votes			
			From a management perspective, it seems easier to remember or record a vampire's ultimate vote in a referundum. A vampire could in theory vote for, against, and abstain all in the same referendum because of various effects, and it seems like too much of a pain to have to keep track of the entire history. It might already be hard to remember what the vampire's final vote was.
I cannot see how it may be "hard to remember what the vampire's final vote was" when that tally is integral to the final outcome of the referendum, due to passing or not passing and Voter Capping, etc. Also, Tribunal Judgment does not seem to care if a vampire's vote casting was successful or not, just if it was cast at all.
My last sentence was redundant, I'm a little drunk, apologies.
		Last edit: 19 Oct 2013 23:20  by Robert Scythe.			
	
		The following user(s) said Thank You: Caballero 	
			Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- Robert Scythe
 - 
				
											 - Offline
 - Elder
 - 
				
			 
		Less
		More
		
			
	
		- Posts: 147
 - Thank you received: 38
 
		Time to create page: 0.089 seconds	
- You are here:
 - 
											Home
					
											
							
						
										
				 - 
											Foro
					
											
							
						
										
				 - 
											V:TES Discussion
					
											
							
						
										
				 - 
											Rules Questions
					
											
							
						
										
				 - Tribunal Judgment and cancelled votes
 
											
						