file Fatima's Special vs Direct Intervention

16 Jan 2019 10:20 - 16 Jan 2019 10:23 #92913 by Bloodartist

No. You cannot DI Fatima's special. In the same way you cannot DI an Ivory Bow that was Disguised into play.


What was the logic on this ruling? There was something of a discussion recently about playing cards, cards entering play, etc.

#makerulesforthefirsttime


Fatima equips with her own ability. No card is played, no card can be DI'd. The weapon is not played.

Notice how DI says "cancel a minion CARD". Similarly you can DI a concealed weapon, but not the weapon itself since the weapon is not played, its just put into play. If you DI a concealed, the weapon just goes back in hand (or more accurately never enters play).

A heretic is a man who sees with his own eyes.
—Gotthold Ephraim Lessing



Last edit: 16 Jan 2019 10:23 by Bloodartist.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
16 Jan 2019 12:14 - 16 Jan 2019 12:15 #92915 by jamesatzephyr

What was the logic on this ruling?


Broadly that "cancel as played" works best as "cancel as played in the normal fashion", because you run into weird annoying glitches if you allow the 'companion' card (for lack of a better term) to be cancelled, in situations like Concealed Weapon etc., and it extends to specials too. The least hassle way to handle it is generally to cancel the whole effect, rather than ending up in some weird dead-end fizzling situations, or similar alternatives, where you might be paying for the main card and then having it die in a heap, or whatever alternative structure you might go for.

This is one of the situations where - given that there was an obvious need for a ruling - the actual choice of ruling itself was probably influenced by "Which way will make players and judges gouge their eyes out slightly less when handling it in actual play?"
Last edit: 16 Jan 2019 12:15 by jamesatzephyr.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
16 Jan 2019 13:33 #92918 by Mewcat
Yes, I am seeing that what was intended to be the text of DI is cancel a minion card that is played, but not one that is played as an effect of another card(?). Seems like it would have been easy to correct the wording at some point.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.095 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum