Confirmation needed about Garrote		
	
	
			
	
						11 Jun 2021 11:04				#102457
		by Rémi
	
	
		
			
					
I am Rémi Cavaillé (), Barcelona (Spain). I was the Prince of Lyon (France) around 2003. I am now Official Judge and the 5th Prince of Barcelona.
Enjoy VTES, Marvel Champions, L5R and more gaming activities in Khan Jugar:
sites.google.com/view/khanjugar/
					
	
			
			 		
													
		
	
				Replied by Rémi on topic Confirmation needed about Garrote			
			
				Dear all,
Thanks for the Debate.
Let's put an example:
The opposing vampire has no blood.
The bearer of Garrote plays Carrion Crows.
Range is close
Strike with Garrote VS Dodge, no minion uses prevent effect.
I would say the garrote can be burnt to burn that opposing vampire..
Card Texts:
Name: Carrion Crows
Cardtype: Combat
Only usable before range is determined. A vampire can play only one Carrion Crows each combat.
[ani] The opposing minion takes 1R environmental damage each round this combat during normal strike resolution.
Regards,
Rémi.
							Thanks for the Debate.
Let's put an example:
The opposing vampire has no blood.
The bearer of Garrote plays Carrion Crows.
Range is close
Strike with Garrote VS Dodge, no minion uses prevent effect.
I would say the garrote can be burnt to burn that opposing vampire..
Card Texts:
Name: Carrion Crows
Cardtype: Combat
Only usable before range is determined. A vampire can play only one Carrion Crows each combat.
[ani] The opposing minion takes 1R environmental damage each round this combat during normal strike resolution.
Regards,
Rémi.
I am Rémi Cavaillé (), Barcelona (Spain). I was the Prince of Lyon (France) around 2003. I am now Official Judge and the 5th Prince of Barcelona.
Enjoy VTES, Marvel Champions, L5R and more gaming activities in Khan Jugar:
sites.google.com/view/khanjugar/
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
			
	
						11 Jun 2021 14:38				#102459
		by kschaefer
	
	
		
			
				
					
	
			
			 		
													
		
	
				Replied by kschaefer on topic Confirmation needed about Garrote			
			Yes. The ability to burn a vampire is not tied to the strike being successfully inflicted. It is a separate effect of the card.The opposing vampire has no blood.
The bearer of Garrote plays Carrion Crows.
Range is close
Strike with Garrote VS Dodge, no minion uses prevent effect.
I would say the garrote can be burnt to burn that opposing vampire..
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
			
	
						11 Jun 2021 15:02		 -  11 Jun 2021 15:03		#102460
		by Timo
	
	
		
			
	
	
			 		
													
		
	
				Replied by Timo on topic Confirmation needed about Garrote			
			
				I think now what we need is for Ankha to give an official answer.
Because even if yes, for garrote (or sup Arhiman's Demesne for that matter) the 2 parts of the text seems to be separated, it could be argued (and it is !) that the second effect is part of the strike effect and therefore would be dodged.
And it has been ruled like that by LSJ for Blood Rage/Blood Fury (groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/GBcR6aNjIk4/m/DXPyqBM1R8kJ)
					Because even if yes, for garrote (or sup Arhiman's Demesne for that matter) the 2 parts of the text seems to be separated, it could be argued (and it is !) that the second effect is part of the strike effect and therefore would be dodged.
And it has been ruled like that by LSJ for Blood Rage/Blood Fury (groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/GBcR6aNjIk4/m/DXPyqBM1R8kJ)
		Last edit: 11 Jun 2021 15:03  by Timo.			
			Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
			
	
						11 Jun 2021 15:30				#102463
		by kschaefer
	
	
		
			
				
groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/tEC5uN8yqUE/m/v2XYLdCbk1oJ
But that ruling was before 02-DEC-2004 RTR in which "Dodge protects the dodger against all strikes, even aggressive S:CE effects (like Catatonic Fear)."
Interestingly, the Blood Rage/Fury ruling cited above uses the RTR reasoning even before the RTR was given.
There's no post RTR reversal from LSJ.
 			
					
	
			
			 		
													
		
	
				Replied by kschaefer on topic Confirmation needed about Garrote			
			LSJ confirms a dodged Garrote strike can still burn a vampire that would otherwise meet the conditions to burn them.And it has been ruled like that by LSJ for Blood Rage/Blood Fury (groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/GBcR6aNjIk4/m/DXPyqBM1R8kJ)
groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/tEC5uN8yqUE/m/v2XYLdCbk1oJ
But that ruling was before 02-DEC-2004 RTR in which "Dodge protects the dodger against all strikes, even aggressive S:CE effects (like Catatonic Fear)."
Interestingly, the Blood Rage/Fury ruling cited above uses the RTR reasoning even before the RTR was given.
There's no post RTR reversal from LSJ.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
			
	
						11 Jun 2021 18:23				#102466
		by kschaefer
	
	
		
			
				
					
	
			
			 		
													
		
	
				Replied by kschaefer on topic Confirmation needed about Garrote			
			Actually the more I think about it the RTR decision was basically extending dodge's ability to S:CE. Neither of the original rulings should be affected by the RTR change. I'd think LSJ's dodge/Garrote ruling is still accurate.
LSJ confirms a dodged Garrote strike can still burn a vampire that would otherwise meet the conditions to burn them.And it has been ruled like that by LSJ for Blood Rage/Blood Fury (groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/GBcR6aNjIk4/m/DXPyqBM1R8kJ)
groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/tEC5uN8yqUE/m/v2XYLdCbk1oJ
But that ruling was before 02-DEC-2004 RTR in which "Dodge protects the dodger against all strikes, even aggressive S:CE effects (like Catatonic Fear)."
Interestingly, the Blood Rage/Fury ruling cited above uses the RTR reasoning even before the RTR was given.
There's no post RTR reversal from LSJ.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
			
	
						12 Jun 2021 17:07				#102470
		by Ankha
	
	
		
			
				
Since it's not part of the strike, dodging the strike does not prevent the bearer from using the Garrote if the opposing vampire goes to torpor.
groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/tEC5uN8yqUE/m/czJYA-Pt00sJ
							
					
	
	
			 		
													
		
	
				Replied by Ankha on topic Confirmation needed about Garrote			
			> So the burn-effect is not an effect of the strike, but only
> a sort of "other effect" of the weapon?
Right. It's something that can be done if something else (opposing
vampire to torpor) happens during the resolution of the strike.
Since it's not part of the strike, dodging the strike does not prevent the bearer from using the Garrote if the opposing vampire goes to torpor.
groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/tEC5uN8yqUE/m/czJYA-Pt00sJ
		The following user(s) said Thank You: Rémi 	
			Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
		Time to create page: 0.083 seconds	
- You are here:
 - 
											Home
					
											
							
						
										
				 - 
											Foro
					
											
							
						
										
				 - 
											V:TES Discussion
					
											
							
						
										
				 - 
											Rules Questions
					
											
							
						
										
				 - Confirmation needed about Garrote
 
											
						