file Haqim's Law: Retribution and Anu Diptinatpa

02 May 2022 00:53 #105138 by the1andonlime
Looking at Anu's text and HL:R's text and noticed that HL:R does not specify "acting"
Does this mean that Haqim's Law: Retribution is deliberately worded to allow it to be used on your minions when they are not acting?

I am guessing this was more of an older wording template being used and should be updated to be in line with Anu's new text but I could be wrong and HL:R could just be that flexible

Name: Anu Diptinatpa
[HttB:U/A2]
Cardtype: Vampire
Clan: Nagaraja
Group: 6
Capacity: 7
Discipline: aus vic DOM NEC
Independent: During {a bleed} action, Anu can burn 1 blood to give {the acting} minion +1 bleed. Scarce.
Artist: Robin Chyo
Name: Haqim's Law: Retribution
[V5A:PBh4]
Cardtype: Master
Clan: Banu Haqim
Put this card in play. During a bleed action, a Banu Haqim you control can discard a combat card to get +1 bleed.
Artist: Clint Langley


Suaku
Inceptor Asian Continental Championship
興っ
www.youtube.com/SuakuOz

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
02 May 2022 06:26 - 02 May 2022 06:26 #105140 by Ankha

Looking at Anu's text and HL:R's text and noticed that HL:R does not specify "acting"
Does this mean that Haqim's Law: Retribution is deliberately worded to allow it to be used on your minions when they are not acting?

No. You cannot give a bleed boost to non-bleeding minion.

I am guessing this was more of an older wording template being used and should be updated to be in line with Anu's new text but I could be wrong and HL:R could just be that flexible

"During a bleed action, a Banu Haqim you control can discard a combat card to get +1 bleed." => by construction ("during a bleed action... to get"), the Banu Haqim is the bleeding minion.

Anu Diptinatpa gives a bleed boost to another minion, hence the different cardtext.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
Last edit: 02 May 2022 06:26 by Ankha.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Charles_Bronson, lip

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
03 May 2022 08:38 #105158 by PaulCrowther
You can only gain bonus bleed when a minion is bleeding. It specifies it’s the Banu Haqim that gets the bonus bleed so no other reading is possible other than it’s intended effect.

That said the wording could be better. It’s not the Banu Haqim discarding the card after all, it’s you the player.

It would be better wording for it to say ‘When you a Banu Haqim is bleeding you may discard a combat card to give them +1 Bleed’

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
03 May 2022 10:18 - 03 May 2022 10:18 #105162 by Ankha

That said the wording could be better. It’s not the Banu Haqim discarding the card after all, it’s you the player.

Your minions have access to your resources. A minion you control can discard a card from your hand, burn 1 of your pool, or burn the Edge you control.

It would be better wording for it to say ‘When you a Banu Haqim is bleeding you may discard a combat card to give them +1 Bleed’

Not sure the typo is helping ;)

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
Last edit: 03 May 2022 10:18 by Ankha.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.078 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum