file Cats' Guidance before Psyche! combat

01 Dec 2022 10:46 - 01 Dec 2022 10:46 #106909 by Ankha

The following question arose from a discussion in the discord

Now that the card text of Cats' Guidance has changed is it possible for it to be played in the "Obedience" window (step 5 below)?

No. There is no functional change.


Is this to be taken as there is no difference between “immediately after he or she blocks (play after combat, if any).” and “after block resolution”?

Exactly.

Does this ruling mean that “block resolution” encompasses all combats (block related one and Psyche related one) as part of one and the same “block resolution” and that the “block resolution” doesn’t end with the first block related combat?

Yes, even though a distinction must be made between the combat resulting from the block and the other combats (resulting from other effects).

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
Last edit: 01 Dec 2022 10:46 by Ankha.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
01 Dec 2022 13:05 #106911 by inm8
The rulebook prior to V5 release stated the below (highlight in bold by me):

If the action is blocked, then any card played to take the action is burned (it is moved to the ash heap) and the block is resolved: the blocking minion is locked and enters combat with the acting minion (see Combat, sec. 6.4). The "lock + enter combat" part is called the block resolution, and locking and entering combat happen at the same time.


and the current rulebook below still insinuates the same, might be a good idea to improve the wording to make clear what "block resolution" encompasses

If the action is blocked, then any card played to perform the action is burned and the block is resolved with these two simultaneous consequences: the blocking minion is locked and enters combat with the acting minion (see Combat). If an effect ends the action before the block resolution or one of these two consequences (such as entering combat), neither consequence occurs.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
02 Dec 2022 11:18 #106916 by Snodig

Question also applies to gaps between two combats caused by Hidden lurker or Marie-Pierre.

They follow the same priority rules as any other effects sharing the same window.

groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/zFmoLa6tzWA/m/ZhLr4SGt0xQJ

The ruling linked refers to “1.6.1.6”, which doesn’t tell me anything. Is this a reference to the old rule book chapters?

If Marie Pierre and Hidden Lurker have the same timing and rules for sequencing, does that mean that once Hidden Lurker has been played, the blocker cannot play Cats (since he is now in combat)?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
02 Dec 2022 12:29 #106917 by inm8

The ruling linked refers to “1.6.1.6”, which doesn’t tell me anything. Is this a reference to the old rule book chapters?


Yes, it is a reference to the "Sequencing" rule in the old online rulebook.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
02 Dec 2022 15:52 #106919 by Ankha

Question also applies to gaps between two combats caused by Hidden lurker or Marie-Pierre.

They follow the same priority rules as any other effects sharing the same window.

groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/zFmoLa6tzWA/m/ZhLr4SGt0xQJ

The ruling linked refers to “1.6.1.6”, which doesn’t tell me anything. Is this a reference to the old rule book chapters?

If Marie Pierre and Hidden Lurker have the same timing and rules for sequencing, does that mean that once Hidden Lurker has been played, the blocker cannot play Cats (since he is now in combat)?

The acting Methuselah has priority to play Hidden Lurker. Once it's played, minions are in combat so the reacting Methuselah cannot play Cats' Guidance until after combat.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.091 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum