Jack of both sides, the summoning and path of two worlds
10 Nov 2025 22:58 #115742
by Nac
Jack of both sides, the summoning and path of two worlds was created by Nac
Hi
I was building and I got into jack of both sides rulings of VDB:
-Is an action of the appropriate type for the chosen card (recruit/employ/equip). [TOM 19960130]
-Requirements apply but do not count as requirements for the action (eg. you cannot use
CrimethInc.
if the chosen card requires an Anarch).
How does path of two worlds interacts with it? Can I do jack at both sides, declare a wraith as target then play path of two worlds as action is announced?
Second ruling relates to action requirements rather than path of two worlds requirement, does it apply to this case too?
What about the the summoning? It has the same ruling under. The summoning has no declaration of target, does path of two worlds become playable at any point?
On broader terms: both actions take type (equip on this case), do them take "wraith equip" too?
Many thanks in advance
Jack of Both Sides
+2 stealth action. Requires a ready vampire.
This vampire equips or employs an equipment or retainer from your hand. The cost of that card is reduced by 1 pool or by up to 2 blood.
Summoning, The
+1 stealth action.
Presence Search your library for an ally or retainer. Show it to all players and put it in your hand (shuffle and discard afterward).
Superior Presence Search your library for an ally. This vampire recruits that ally (requirements and cost apply as normal). Shuffle afterward.
Paths in Two Worlds
Only usable as an action to recruit or employ a wraith or zombie is announced.
Oblivion +1 stealth, even if stealth is not yet needed.
Superior Oblivion As above, and if the action is successful, this vampire can burn 1 blood to unlock after action resolution.
I was building and I got into jack of both sides rulings of VDB:
-Is an action of the appropriate type for the chosen card (recruit/employ/equip). [TOM 19960130]
-Requirements apply but do not count as requirements for the action (eg. you cannot use
CrimethInc.
if the chosen card requires an Anarch).
How does path of two worlds interacts with it? Can I do jack at both sides, declare a wraith as target then play path of two worlds as action is announced?
Second ruling relates to action requirements rather than path of two worlds requirement, does it apply to this case too?
What about the the summoning? It has the same ruling under. The summoning has no declaration of target, does path of two worlds become playable at any point?
On broader terms: both actions take type (equip on this case), do them take "wraith equip" too?
Many thanks in advance
Jack of Both Sides
+2 stealth action. Requires a ready vampire.
This vampire equips or employs an equipment or retainer from your hand. The cost of that card is reduced by 1 pool or by up to 2 blood.
Summoning, The
+1 stealth action.
Presence Search your library for an ally or retainer. Show it to all players and put it in your hand (shuffle and discard afterward).
Superior Presence Search your library for an ally. This vampire recruits that ally (requirements and cost apply as normal). Shuffle afterward.
Paths in Two Worlds
Only usable as an action to recruit or employ a wraith or zombie is announced.
Oblivion +1 stealth, even if stealth is not yet needed.
Superior Oblivion As above, and if the action is successful, this vampire can burn 1 blood to unlock after action resolution.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
13 Nov 2025 18:19 #115756
by extrala
Replied by extrala on topic Jack of both sides, the summoning and path of two worlds
Sure you can use Paths in Two Worlds with both cards. Only take note that Jack of Both Sides let's you only employ a retainer, while the Summoning (at PRE) only let's you recruit an ally.
And only for the sake of completeness. You can't use Paths in Two Worlds using the inferior level of Summoning, only with the superior version of Summoning.
And only for the sake of completeness. You can't use Paths in Two Worlds using the inferior level of Summoning, only with the superior version of Summoning.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
13 Nov 2025 23:32 - 13 Nov 2025 23:33 #115759
by kschaefer
Replied by kschaefer on topic Jack of both sides, the summoning and path of two worlds
Path in Two Worlds is not usable on any of these actions. They do not meet the requirements.
Last edit: 13 Nov 2025 23:33 by kschaefer.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
13 Nov 2025 23:57 #115760
by Nac
I get why the summoning does not, as it becomes a recruit wraith later but jack at both sides requires you to set a target as soon as announced, I don't get why not. They both become recruit actions at different points so there is a difference between them.
Replied by Nac on topic Jack of both sides, the summoning and path of two worlds
Path in Two Worlds is not usable on any of these actions. They do not meet the requirements.
I get why the summoning does not, as it becomes a recruit wraith later but jack at both sides requires you to set a target as soon as announced, I don't get why not. They both become recruit actions at different points so there is a difference between them.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
Time to create page: 0.077 seconds
- You are here:
-
Home
-
Foro
-
V:TES Discussion
-
Rules Questions
- Jack of both sides, the summoning and path of two worlds
