Is Bestial Vengance effective at long range?
21 Nov 2025 23:14 #115835
by Hobbesgoblin
Is Bestial Vengance effective at long range? was created by Hobbesgoblin
Per
LSJ 20090610
Bestial vengance is effective regardless of range.
This is in contradiction to card text and the general rule(ing) that Strikes and non-strike strike resolution effects are affected by range.
I ask for either confirmation or official redaction of the above ruling for the rulings database.
Combat
Requires a Laibon.
Only usable before range is determined. Choose a retainer on this Laibon. This combat, this Laibon is immune to frenzy cards and the opposing minion takes 1 damage during strike resolution if the retainer is ready. A vampire can play only one Bestial Vengeance each combat.
As above, but for 2 damage.
This is in contradiction to card text and the general rule(ing) that Strikes and non-strike strike resolution effects are affected by range.
I ask for either confirmation or official redaction of the above ruling for the rulings database.
Bestial Vengance
Combat
Requires a Laibon.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Kilrauko
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- Hobbesgoblin
-
Topic Author
- Offline
- Elder
-
Less
More
- Posts: 177
- Thank you received: 50
22 Nov 2025 08:08 #115837
by Kilrauko
Considering how LSJ is referring to Darkling Trickery and how it was reworded for POD release to deal 1R environmental Damage it's much more likely Bestial Vengeance will be reworded to deal !R or 2R as opposed to reversal of the ruling.
Trust in Jan Pieterzoon.
Replied by Kilrauko on topic Is Bestial Vengance effective at long range?
Per LSJ 20090610 Bestial vengance is effective regardless of range.
This is in contradiction to card text and the general rule(ing) that Strikes and non-strike strike resolution effects are affected by range.
I ask for either confirmation or official redaction of the above ruling for the rulings database.
Bestial Vengance
Combat
Requires a Laibon.
Only usable before range is determined. Choose a retainer on this Laibon. This combat, this Laibon is immune to frenzy cards and the opposing minion takes 1 damage during strike resolution if the retainer is ready. A vampire can play only one Bestial Vengeance each combat.
As above, but for 2 damage.
Considering how LSJ is referring to Darkling Trickery and how it was reworded for POD release to deal 1R environmental Damage it's much more likely Bestial Vengeance will be reworded to deal !R or 2R as opposed to reversal of the ruling.
Name: Darkling Trickery
[BL:R1, LoB:R, POD:DTC]
Cardtype: Combat
Discipline: Mytherceria/Obtenebration
[obt] Press, only usable to end combat.
[myt] Maneuver or press.
[MYT] Only usable if the opposing minion strikes with a weapon that inflicts ranged damage. That weapon inflicts no damage. The opposing minion takes 1R environmental damage during normal strike resolution.
Artist: Dennis CaleroTrust in Jan Pieterzoon.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Vlad
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
Time to create page: 0.043 seconds
- You are here:
-
Home
-
Foro
-
V:TES Discussion
-
Rules Questions
- Is Bestial Vengance effective at long range?
