file Sciencing V:tES

03 Mar 2016 22:18 - 03 Mar 2016 22:40 #75706 by 1muflon1
Sciencing V:tES was created by 1muflon1
The exciting possibility of relaunching v:tes started a very interesting discussion on the balancing issues of dominate (look at this excellent blogpostblogpost ), and certain clans or archetypes. However, since I am by profession econometrician I always get a bit skeptical when someone jumps from some simple statistical patterns to causality (not because I think that these ideas are nonsense. I actually think that some of those observations are right, but in my professional life I already saw so many anecdotes and common wisdom disproved that I always get paranoid).

For example, brettscho sparked interesting discussion on the prevalence of dominate in tournaments. But the argument that this is because dominate is OP discipline is just one hypothesis and there are other possibilities. Maybe this is because dominate is the main bleeding discipline and since bleeding is the main ousting mechanism, it is this what drives the prevalence of dominate.

But luckily such hypotheses can be tested against each other. For example, If adding bleeding deck dummy to econometric model would be significant, and dummy for having a deck with majority of dominate vamps suddenly loses significance, it would be good evidence that it might be actually bleed itself which is being overpowered, and dominate just shows because its bleeding discipline or otherwise it will simply show that brettscho was right.

There are also many other interesting things that can be mined out of the data. For instance, If the database would include the length of play, I could build a model which would show which decks or cards are most likely to be slowing down the play.

I could also build some probit or logit models to determine how much at margin certain cards increase your chance of winning. Or the same can be done for individual clans or groups like camarila or just archetypes.