file Timeouting as increasing trend

08 May 2012 10:03 #29675 by mika
For my personal experience it seems like that games nowadays tend to timeout more than before. There could be few reasons for that:

1) The level and skills of the average player have risen and due that the vigilance for recognizing an oust have increased. The level of gaming has grown better and more complicated.

2) Game development by cards like Villein and Ashur Tablets have lenghtened gaming time by providing more careful allocation of pool and more options to bloat.

3) Increased variety of cards have created more complex game as a whole.

Do you agree?

:splat: :splat: :splat:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
08 May 2012 12:32 #29688 by Oskar
No, it does not seem like this to me. Judging from my own experience it seems to have been around the same amount of games going to timeout since I started playing a few years ago. There are of course some variation like the tournament where everyone randomly happens to bring walls decks, but overall no.

There was also a study made some time ago, based mainly on the data from the 2010 EC I think, that showed no indication of more timeouts. But it was of course far from complete.

1) No, in general I have the feeling games take more time with inexperienced players. If an experienced player is holding the game up he is more likely doing it intentionally.

2) Yes, I agree, better bloat and more card shuffling probably has some effect.

3) Yes, but this does not necessarily make the games last longer.. however it does make deckbuilding last longer

Overall I think local meta has had more impact on game time the last few years.

More
08 May 2012 13:07 #29690 by porphyrion

1) No, in general I have the feeling games take more time with inexperienced players.