file Where to start??(again)

10 May 2016 16:37 #76867 by TCafferty
Hello,

I started playing back in the JYHAD days and stopped with V:TES. Now im looking to get back into playing and am wondering where i should start(again) to be competitive? which expansion? Should i go back to the V:TES,Camarilla, ??Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 May 2016 17:07 #76868 by ICL
Replied by ICL on topic Where to start??(again)
To be competitive? Easiest cards with most play value to get would be Jyhad (which you get from someone's collection or eBay, as opposed to cracking packs). Have to deal with how card text has changed on a bunch of cards. To get On the Qui Vive, need Third Edition or some newer set with them.

I ran a couple of experiments with limited collections, and the more successful one was using one box of starters and one box of boosters with Third Edition. Will miss some staple cards and will get wild distributions from the boosters, but I felt like I could field functional decks, especially !Malk SB. Unless I'm playing all 3e, I avoid playing cards from the set due to the inverted backs, but others don't necessarily care.

I would imagine Keepers of Tradition wouldn't be bad as a starting point, except I don't know where you would find it.

Best thing to always do is buy a collection from someone, eBay or local or whatever, and/or get donations from people who have enough excess cards to donate staples. At this point, after doing that, probably pick up singles of what you are missing from whatever decks you are looking to build.
The following user(s) said Thank You: TCafferty

More
11 May 2016 21:22 #76874 by brettscho
Replied by brettscho on topic Where to start??(again)
Welcome back to the game! I've been putting together resources on my VTES blog to help new and returning players get into the game. You might be interested in some of them like: