file The Line & Pack Alpha

18 Aug 2023 17:38 - 18 Aug 2023 17:39 #109083 by lip
The Line & Pack Alpha was created by lip
Can The Line be used to reduce the cost of a retainer played through Pack Alpha?

Relevant ruling [LSJ 20090920]

The Line

Pack Alpha
Last edit: 18 Aug 2023 17:39 by lip.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Kilrauko

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Aug 2023 21:42 #109086 by Kilrauko
Replied by Kilrauko on topic The Line & Pack Alpha

Can The Line be used to reduce the cost of a retainer played through Pack Alpha?

Relevant ruling [LSJ 20090920]

The Line

Pack Alpha



Yes.

Longer;

LSJ has in the past ruled that groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/vSOt2c1uRzQ/m/MsRAv47Cd4YJ
1) "All cost-affecting cards operate no matter how the card is played ("as normal"
or otherwise). All multiplication and division is handled first, followed by
addition and subtraction.
Note that pay nothing still means pay nothing, even if something else would add
to the cost. So costs for cards canceled by Sudden Reversal or Direct
Intervention are still not paid, for example. And Bauble and Horrid Reality
still gets weapons for free. And similar for Helena and Dragos.

Similarly, cards that can be used to pay some of the cost of other cards can be
used whenever such a cost is being paid (regardless of whether the card is
played "as normal" or not)."

and
groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/cAGuCHSPIMY/m/22_BPQF8kMQJ

2) "Petri Wessman wrote:
> Two related questions: first off, can I use Powerbase Tswane or
> Eccentric Billionaire to reduce the cost of equipment I retrieve from
> my own ash heap via Kiss of Lachesis? Both say that they reduce the
> cost of a card I play by one, so does Kiss of Lachesis count for that?

Kiss counts that, yeah."

Relevant cards;
Name: Powerbase: Tshwane
[LoB:R]
Cardtype: Master
Master: unique location. Requires a ready Laibon.
Lock this location to reduce the cost of a card you play by 1 pool (this location is not locked if that card is canceled as it is played). Any Laibon may steal this location for his or her controller as a (D) action.
Artist: William O'Connor

Name: Eccentric Billionaire
[SoC:C]
Cardtype: Ally
Clan: Toreador antitribu
Cost: 3 pool
Mortal with 1 life. 0 strength, 2 bleed.
Billionaire may lock to reduce the cost of an equipment or location you or any of your minions play by 1 pool. Only one Billionaire may be used to reduce the cost of a given card.
Artist: Pat McEvoy

Name: Kiss of Lachesis
[BL:C1, LoB:C, POD:DTC]
Cardtype: Action
Cost: 1 blood
Discipline: Temporis/Serpentis
+1 stealth action.
[ser] (D) Burn a retainer or a non-unique equipment.
[tem] (D) Burn an ally, retainer or non-unique equipment.
[TEM] Move a non-unique equipment card from any Methuselah's ash heap to this vampire. If the equipment card comes from your ash heap, pay half the cost rounded down, otherwise pay no cost.
Artist: Dennis Calero

Trust in Jan Pieterzoon.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Aug 2023 08:03 - 19 Aug 2023 08:03 #109089 by Hobbesgoblin
Replied by Hobbesgoblin on topic The Line & Pack Alpha

LSJ has in the past ruled that groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/vSOt2c1uRzQ/m/MsRAv47Cd4YJ
1) "All cost-affecting cards operate no matter how the card is played ("as normal"
or otherwise). All multiplication and division is handled first, followed by
addition and subtraction.


7/7 strikes again

This seems pretty conclusive for to me.
Last edit: 19 Aug 2023 08:03 by Hobbesgoblin.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Aug 2023 15:06 #109095 by garou66
Replied by garou66 on topic The Line & Pack Alpha
Forgive me if I am wrong, but isn't the effect of "The Line" restricted to Action Cards only, per card text?
The following user(s) said Thank You: Kilrauko

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Aug 2023 16:02 #109097 by Kilrauko
Replied by Kilrauko on topic The Line & Pack Alpha

Forgive me if I am wrong, but isn't the effect of "The Line" restricted to Action Cards only, per card text?


See the rulebook and cards, action cards have action card symbol on them (and on newer cards text "action" as well).
This was last discussed here www.vekn.net/forum/generic-v-tes-discussion/80745-political-action-cards#108931

Note also on the rules how under Employ retainer the following is stated;

... Effect: Retainers are action cards that give minions special abilities. ...


Trust in Jan Pieterzoon.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Aug 2023 16:03 #109098 by inm8
Replied by inm8 on topic The Line & Pack Alpha
A retainer card usually is an action card :action: :retainer:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.073 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum