Self targeting D action
09 Jul 2012 10:11 #32920
by Malachy
NC of Hungary
///
Self targeting D action was created by Malachy
Heys!
Let us assume I have an ally who is Red List. I want to burn him via Set's Curse which burns an ally as a D action. Am I applied to search for a Trophy card?
The main question is can one make a D action against himself? Is it still a D action or it changes like a diablerie action ( D action against others, undirected against self)?
Let us assume I have an ally who is Red List. I want to burn him via Set's Curse which burns an ally as a D action. Am I applied to search for a Trophy card?
The main question is can one make a D action against himself? Is it still a D action or it changes like a diablerie action ( D action against others, undirected against self)?
NC of Hungary
///
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
09 Jul 2012 10:26 - 09 Jul 2012 10:28 #32926
by jamesatzephyr
No. Being against yourself, it's not a
action.
Something that affects you - and only you - is an undirected action.
From a post I wrote some time back :
Replied by jamesatzephyr on topic Re: Self targeting D action
Heys!
Let us assume I have an ally who is Red List. I want to burn him via Set's Curse which burns an ally as a D action. Am I applied to search for a Trophy card?
No. Being against yourself, it's not a

The main question is can one make a D action against himself? Is it still a D action or it changes like a diablerie action ( D action against others, undirected against self)?
Something that affects you - and only you - is an undirected action.
From a post I wrote some time back :
The action is by you against something you control (or pool, hand etc.).
Therefore, it is an undirected action.
If you take an action that affects someone else (e.g. diablerie, their
pool, hand etc.), that's a directed action against that Methuselah.
If you take an action that affects someone else (minions, pool, hand
etc.) and it also affects you, that's a directed action against the
target. e.g. "Bleed, and untap a minion you control if successful"
is a directed action against the bleed target - although you get a
benefit too. It's not directed against you.
If you take an action that affects multiple Methuselahs, all of the
targets can block and it's aaction against those Methuselahs.
(Under the old rules, this would be an undirected action.) Example:
superior Shepherd's Innocence, Border Skirmish.
If it affects multiple Methuselahs _and_ me, it's still aaction
against those other Methuselahs.
In all circumstances, calling a referendum is an undirected action,
irrespective of who the referendum will affect (or might affect).
Last edit: 09 Jul 2012 10:28 by jamesatzephyr.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Malachy
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- jamesatzephyr
-
- Offline
- Antediluvian
-
Less
More
- Posts: 2788
- Thank you received: 958
09 Jul 2012 17:24 #32946
by KevinM
Kevin M., Prince of Las Vegas
"Know your enemy and know yourself; in one-thousand battles
you shall never be in peril." -- Sun Tzu, *The Art of War*
"Contentment...Complacency...Catastrophe!" -- Joseph Chevalier
Please visit VTESville daily! vtesville.myminicity.com/
Facebook: www.facebook.com/groups/129744447064017
Replied by KevinM on topic Re: Self targeting D action
Rulebook, 6.2.2.1: "If the action is not directed at another Methuselah (or at something controlled by another Methuselah), then the action is called undirected..."Let us assume I have an ally who is Red List. I want to burn him via Set's Curse which burns an ally as a D action. Am I applied to search for a Trophy card?
The main question is can one make a D action against himself? Is it still a D action or it changes like a diablerie action ( D action against others, undirected against self)?
Kevin M., Prince of Las Vegas
"Know your enemy and know yourself; in one-thousand battles
you shall never be in peril." -- Sun Tzu, *The Art of War*
"Contentment...Complacency...Catastrophe!" -- Joseph Chevalier
Please visit VTESville daily! vtesville.myminicity.com/
Facebook: www.facebook.com/groups/129744447064017
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
10 Jul 2012 04:51 #32972
by Pascal Bertrand
Replied by Pascal Bertrand on topic Re: Self targeting D action
Correct answers from jamesatzephyr and KevinM.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- Pascal Bertrand
-
- Offline
- Moderator
-
Less
More
- Posts: 4268
- Thank you received: 1186
Time to create page: 0.072 seconds
- You are here:
-
Home
-
Forum
-
V:TES Discussion
-
Rules Questions
- Self targeting D action