file Information Highway

20 Dec 2013 05:12 #57910 by Prudent_Audacity
Sorry guys, new player here so this is a really basic question:

INFORMATION HIGHWAY
Master: unique location.
During your influence phase, you get 2 additional transfers.


Where does those transfers come from? Do they allow for 6 transfers from my pool, or 4 from my pool and 2 from the blood bank?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 Dec 2013 06:11 - 20 Dec 2013 06:12 #57911 by brandonsantacruz
Gaining stuff from the blood bank is different than gaining transfers. Transfers can only be used to move pool to and from your uncontrolled region (except where specific cards break this rule).

Be careful when you fight the monsters, lest you become one.
-Friedrich Nietzsche

brandonsantacruz.blogspot.com/
Last edit: 20 Dec 2013 06:12 by brandonsantacruz.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Prudent_Audacity

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 Dec 2013 09:21 #57914 by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic Re: Information Highway
For instance, having extra transfers, let say 6 transfers total, allows you to draw a new vampire (4 transfers + 1 pool) then move 2 pool from your pool to the new vampire.
Or use move 3 pool from an uncontrolled vampire to your pool.
Or use 1 transfer to draw a vampire with Wider View, then use 4 transfers to burn the Wider View to gain 2 pool.

Name: Wider View
[HttB:C/PKia2]
Cardtype: Master
Cost: 1 pool
Master: trifle.
Put this card in play. You may use a transfer to move the top card from your crypt to your uncontrolled region and then remove a crypt card in your uncontrolled region from the game. You may use four transfers to burn this card and gain 2 pool.


Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
The following user(s) said Thank You: Prudent_Audacity

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 Dec 2013 11:18 - 20 Dec 2013 17:30 #57916 by hardyrange
Replied by hardyrange on topic Re: Information Highway
Hi Prudent_Audacity,

good to see a new player!

Your question shows some confusion about the word "transfer", and what you can do with those transfers.

See the Rulebook:

7. Influence Phase
[...]
Each Methuselah normally receives four transfers at the start of her influence phase.
[...]

During your influence phase you may spend transfers as follows:

•Spend one transfer to move 1 blood counter from your pool to a minion in your uncontrolled region.
•Spend two transfers to move 1 blood counter from a minion in your uncontrolled region to your pool.
•Spend four transfers and burn a pool to move a vampire from your crypt to your uncontrolled region (drawing from the top, as always).

So, Information Highway literally does what is says: It gives you two additional transfers.
You can use those do do the things described in the rules.

Hope this helps!

Regards,

hardy

"It was a perfect plan - until it had contact with reality"
---
Hardy Range
Playgroup Council Chairman Bochum
Last edit: 20 Dec 2013 17:30 by hardyrange.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Prudent_Audacity

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 Dec 2013 14:44 #57920 by jozxyqk
Replied by jozxyqk on topic Re: Information Highway
Think of Transfers as a rough equivalent of "Influence Phase Actions". Not exactly the same since some tasks take multiple transfers, but they are basically "permission" to do things (as listed by hardyrange, plus other effects supplied by cards like Wider View).
The following user(s) said Thank You: Prudent_Audacity

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
21 Dec 2013 18:31 #57947 by Lönkka
Replied by Lönkka on topic Re: Information Highway

Your influence phase allows you to devote some of your influence (measured by your pool) to controlling the minions in your uncontrolled region. This phase can also be used to move new minions from your crypt to your uncontrolled region. The activities conducted in this phase are administered through a type of "influence phase action" called a transfer. Transfers, like master phase actions, are not represented by counters and cannot be saved for later use.


Finnish :POT: Politics!
The following user(s) said Thank You: Prudent_Audacity

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Lönkka
  • Lönkka's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Antediluvian
  • Antediluvian
  • War=peace, freedom=slavery, ignorance=strength
More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.065 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum