file Eyes of Blades

11 Nov 2014 22:22 #67358 by Nac
Eyes of Blades was created by Nac
Hi. This is perhaps a misunderstanding of english rather than a rules question, but here it goes: When Eyes of Blades refer to "strikes and damage from retainers": is the card refering to strikes from the opposing minion or to strikes from retainers? Is there some retainer that does strike? (Ghoul retainer says that its own effect is not a strike but I'm stll confused)



Card texts:

Eyes Of Blades
Do not replace until your untap phase.
AuspexCelerity Strike: dodge, and this vampire may prevent 1 damage from a retainer.
AuspexCelerity Only usable before range is determined. This round, this vampire cannot strike, and strikes and damage from retainers have no effect on this vampire and any non-retainer cards on him or her.

Ghoul Retainer

Ghoul with 2 life. 1 strength.
During the initial strike resolution each round, the Ghoul Retainer inflicts 1 damage or may use a weapon not used by the employing minion (or another retainer) that round (either before or after). This is not a strike, although it does count as "using" the weapon.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Nov 2014 02:41 #67360 by brandonsantacruz
Replied by brandonsantacruz on topic Re: Eyes of Blades
If using Eye of Blades at AUS CEL your minion can ignore all damage from retainers and strikes. Ghoul retainer specifically states that ghoul retainer's damage is not a strike.

Be careful when you fight the monsters, lest you become one.
-Friedrich Nietzsche

brandonsantacruz.blogspot.com/

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Nov 2014 05:54 - 12 Nov 2014 05:56 #67361 by HG.fi
Replied by HG.fi on topic Re: Eyes of Blades

Nac wrote: When Eyes of Blades refer to "strikes and damage from retainers"


The text should be parsed like this:

"strikes have no effect on this vampire and any non-retainer cards on him or her, and damage from retainers has no effect on this vampire and any non-retainer cards on him or her."

I understand why you're confused. The text is not perfectly worded, and can easily be misunderstood.
Last edit: 12 Nov 2014 05:56 by HG.fi.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Nov 2014 15:55 #67489 by jamesatzephyr
Replied by jamesatzephyr on topic Re: Eyes of Blades

Nac wrote: Hi. This is perhaps a misunderstanding of english rather than a rules question, but here it goes: When Eyes of Blades refer to "strikes and damage from retainers": is the card refering to strikes from the opposing minion or to strikes from retainers? Is there some retainer that does strike?


Just to provide an actual ruling to back up the (correct) answers:

[FZD 20130205]

Pascal Bertrand wrote: > Anyway, Eye of Blades protect from
> - strikes
> - damage dealt by retainers (they don't strike)

Correct.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.124 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum