file Re: Kaymakli Fragment

14 Jun 2022 22:25 - 14 Jun 2022 22:41 #105475 by inm8
Replied by inm8 on topic Re: Kaymakli Fragment

So this card does not make the vampire Sabbat or Infernal, but a vampire that is Sabbat can use the first action or a vampire that is infernal can use the second action? Is this correct?

Yes. And if you're Sabbat *and* infernal, you can use the Sabbat option, untap (with Freak Drive, or anything else), and use the second option, on the same turn.


Follow up question :

Does Annazir can do both of his actions in the same turn ?


Yes (if you manage to unlock him), the same ruling from PIB above applies which wasn’t a new ruling but came from [LSJ 20100909]

If text provides two "X as an action", then those aren't cross-
restricting.

"Minions may X1 as an action. Minions may X2 as an action".
A minion could only do X1 once each turn, likewise X2 once each turn,
but could do both X1 and X2 on the same turn.


Furthermore, it is now there in the rulebook that the restriction is per action per turn for effects provided by cards in play.

Rulebook:
A minion cannot perform each action via the same card in play (including from the minion’s own card text) more than once each turn, even if they unlock.

Last edit: 14 Jun 2022 22:41 by inm8.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 Jun 2022 23:13 #105476 by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic Re: Kaymakli Fragment

So this card does not make the vampire Sabbat or Infernal, but a vampire that is Sabbat can use the first action or a vampire that is infernal can use the second action? Is this correct?

Yes. And if you're Sabbat *and* infernal, you can use the Sabbat option, untap (with Freak Drive, or anything else), and use the second option, on the same turn.


Follow up question :

Does Annazir can do both of his actions in the same turn ?


Name: Annazir
[HttB:U/A2]
Cardtype: Vampire
Clan: Baali
Group: 5
Capacity: 9
Discipline: DAI OBF POT PRE
Independent. 2 votes (titled): Annazir can burn a location or steal an equipment as a (D) action. Infernal. +1 bleed.


No, because it's the same action.

"X can Y as a (D) action": Y can only be done once because of the NRA (even if Y is "A or B", such as "burn a location or steal an equipment").

In order to be able to do both, it should be written as "Annazir can burn a location as a (D) action. He can steal an equipment as a (D) action."

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
The following user(s) said Thank You: Timo

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 Jun 2022 06:59 #105479 by inm8
Replied by inm8 on topic Re: Kaymakli Fragment


No, because it's the same action.

"X can Y as a (D) action": Y can only be done once because of the NRA (even if Y is "A or B", such as "burn a location or steal an equipment").


It is literally providing the option between two different actions. The use of the English word "or" is to make one sentence of two options.

Or is a conjunction that connects two or more possibilities or alternatives.



In order to be able to do both, it should be written as "Annazir can burn a location as a (D) action. He can steal an equipment as a (D) action."


Looks like you are defining (if it wasn´t already) a template that has a different meaning than the English literal one (similar to "during x, do y") and as such, it should be in the rules and not just exist as a ruling.

Is there any precedent for this ruling or is this the one becoming it?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Jun 2022 08:21 #105501 by Bloodartist
Replied by Bloodartist on topic Re: Kaymakli Fragment


Looks like you are defining (if it wasn´t already) a template that has a different meaning than the English literal one (similar to "during x, do y") and as such, it should be in the rules and not just exist as a ruling.


Not uncommon, Im afraid.

A heretic is a man who sees with his own eyes.
—Gotthold Ephraim Lessing



Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.093 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum