 Question on the correct way to play the tangle atropos hand
				Question on the correct way to play the tangle atropos hand		
	
	
			
	
						12 Jan 2017 21:08		 -  12 Jan 2017 21:08		#80155
		by 1muflon1
	
	
		
			
			
	
	
			 		
													
		
	
				Hi guys, I would like to ask a clarifying question about Tangle Atropos' Hand card.
The card says that "cancel the action and untap the acting minion..." and so on...
Now does this mean that the minion can try to perform the same action on the same turn?
I know that there is a rule against performing/attempting the same action twice (for example like with freak drive). However, this card cancels the action. Also, the direct intervention out-of-turn master which also can cancel action cards has the following ruling:
"Ruling: Since the NRA rule is applied to the acting minion when the action resolves (is blocked or is successful), the minion whose action card is cancelled by Direct Intervention is free to attempt the same type of action again, even with (another copy of) the same card. [LSJ 19980212]."
So I personally think that it should be able to perform the same action again, but one friend from my local group disagrees.
It would be nice if someone could clear things up. Many thanks in advance!
					The card says that "cancel the action and untap the acting minion..." and so on...
Now does this mean that the minion can try to perform the same action on the same turn?
I know that there is a rule against performing/attempting the same action twice (for example like with freak drive). However, this card cancels the action. Also, the direct intervention out-of-turn master which also can cancel action cards has the following ruling:
"Ruling: Since the NRA rule is applied to the acting minion when the action resolves (is blocked or is successful), the minion whose action card is cancelled by Direct Intervention is free to attempt the same type of action again, even with (another copy of) the same card. [LSJ 19980212]."
So I personally think that it should be able to perform the same action again, but one friend from my local group disagrees.
It would be nice if someone could clear things up. Many thanks in advance!
		Last edit: 12 Jan 2017 21:08  by 1muflon1.			
			Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
			
	
						12 Jan 2017 21:43				#80156
		by Hakuron
	
	
		
			
					
National Coordinator Germany
nc [dot] germany [at] magenta [dot] de
					
	
	
			 		
													
		
	
				Replied by Hakuron on topic Question on the correct way to play the tangle atropos hand			
			
				The NRA rule is not triggered.
You are free to perform the same action again. Yes, Tangle is that good. 
			
							You are free to perform the same action again. Yes, Tangle is that good.
 
			National Coordinator Germany
nc [dot] germany [at] magenta [dot] de
		The following user(s) said Thank You: 1muflon1 	
			Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
			
	
						12 Jan 2017 21:46				#80158
		by Squidalot
	
	
		
			
	
	
			 		
													
		
	
				Replied by Squidalot on topic Question on the correct way to play the tangle atropos hand			
			
				Yes, you're correct and your reference to that NRA ruling is correct it applies to Direct Intervention and Tangle in the same way for Actions. .			
					
		The following user(s) said Thank You: 1muflon1 	
			Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
			
	
						13 Jan 2017 07:25				#80163
		by Ankha
	
	
		
			
	
	
			 		
													
		
	
				Replied by Ankha on topic Question on the correct way to play the tangle atropos hand			
			
				Hakuron and Squidalot are correct. The important thing is that the action didn't reach resolution (blocked or successful).			
							
					
		The following user(s) said Thank You: 1muflon1 	
			Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
			
	
						26 Jan 2017 21:15				#80403
		by Lead
	
	
		
			
	
			
			 		
													
		
	
				Replied by Lead on topic Question on the correct way to play the tangle atropos hand			
			
				So if Mylan (or that AUS card or Abdelsobek or so on) untags someone who has played Kiss of Ra, can they play a 2nd copy of an action card or bleed or vote again? Meaning, does that scenario follow the DI / Tangle pattern?			
					Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
			
	
						28 Jan 2017 18:35				#80417
		by Blooded Sand
	
	
		
			
				
No. Think your way through the sequence. Mylan untaps a tapped vampire. He does not have any text, anywhere, mentioning that the action was cancelled (not taken.) Any vampire he untaps may only take actions that do not have NRA taint.
							
					
					 
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
				
					
	
			
			 		
													
		
				Replied by Blooded Sand on topic Question on the correct way to play the tangle atropos hand			
			So if Mylan (or that AUS card or Abdelsobek or so on) untags someone who has played Kiss of Ra, can they play a 2nd copy of an action card or bleed or vote again? Meaning, does that scenario follow the DI / Tangle pattern?
No. Think your way through the sequence. Mylan untaps a tapped vampire. He does not have any text, anywhere, mentioning that the action was cancelled (not taken.) Any vampire he untaps may only take actions that do not have NRA taint.
 
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
				Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- Blooded Sand
- 
				  
- Offline
- Methuselah
- 
				  
		Less
		More
		
			
	
		- Posts: 318
- Thank you received: 53
		Time to create page: 0.088 seconds	
- You are here:
- 
											Home
					
											
							  
- 
											Forum
					
											
							  
- 
											V:TES Discussion
					
											
							  
- 
											Rules Questions
					
											
							  
- Question on the correct way to play the tangle atropos hand
 
											 
						
 
			
 
			
 
			 
			
