Stealing life from Tunnel Runner
18 Jun 2018 12:01 #88245
by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic Stealing life from Tunnel Runner
Thank you, but why are you saying the sequence is not correct?
Upon strike resolution:
The vampire steals 2 blood and takes 2 damage.
Then the vampire takes 1 damage from the Tunnel Runner's strike. The vampire ends up with 0 blood.
While the end result is the same, this sequence is wrong and a frequent cause of confusion.
6.4.3 (...) The effects of the strikes from both minions are resolved simultaneously.
The steal blood and taking damage all happen at the same time. However, the 'burn blood to heal damage' phase only happens after damage is applied, so the correct sequence is:
1. Minions declares strikes (acting minion first)
2. Both strikes resolve at the same time:
- vampire steals 2 blood (move 2 counters to the vampire, remove 2 counters from Tunnel Runner) and takes 2 damage
- Tunnel Runner strike deals 1 damage to the vampire
(note that the vampire has accumulated 3 damage at this point, but burned no blood yet)
3. Minions plays damage prevention cards (lets assume no damage prevention is played)
4. Minions burns blood/life for each non-prevented damage (3 blood from the vampire, 0 from the Tunnel Runner)
IME, this has been one of the most frequent questions in VtES games since the Jyhad days (along with 'Did I gain pool from the edge?')
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
18 Jun 2018 12:16 #88246
by Khalid1988
A good question, which would almost warrant it's own topic. Thanks for bringing it up!
Replied by Khalid1988 on topic Stealing life from Tunnel Runner
Theft of Vitae vs Shambling Hordes is the stack in a stackless game.
'How much strength does Shambling Hordes hits the Tremere with?'
Name: Shambling Hordes
[FN:C2, LotN:PG4]
Cardtype: Ally
Cost: 3 blood
Discipline: Necromancy
Zombie with 3 life. 0 strength, 0 bleed.
[nec] When Shambling Hordes enters play, remove an ally or vampire in your ash heap from the game or burn the Hordes. The Hordes gets +1 strength for each life counter it has. It can never gain life; any life it gains goes to the blood bank instead. The Hordes can enter combat with any minion as aaction.
[NEC] As above, with 4 life.
Artist: Steve Ellis
A good question, which would almost warrant it's own topic. Thanks for bringing it up!
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- Khalid1988
-
Topic Author
- Offline
- Ancilla
-
Less
More
- Posts: 94
- Thank you received: 66
18 Jun 2018 13:11 - 18 Jun 2018 13:12 #88247
by Ankha
The two consecutive events are:
Minion A announces his strike (let's say: steat 2 blood).
Minion B announces his strike (let's say: hand strike for 4 damage).
Strikes resolve simultaneously: A steals 2 blood from B, B inflicts 4 damage on A
A decides to prevent or to heal damage.
Replied by Ankha on topic Stealing life from Tunnel Runner
There is no stack involved, unless you see two consecutive events as a stack (but don't blame the rules if you see stacks where there are none!)
Theft of Vitae vs Shambling Hordes is the stack in a stackless game.
'How much strength does Shambling Hordes hits the Tremere with?'
Name: Shambling Hordes
[FN:C2, LotN:PG4]
Cardtype: Ally
Cost: 3 blood
Discipline: Necromancy
Zombie with 3 life. 0 strength, 0 bleed.
[nec] When Shambling Hordes enters play, remove an ally or vampire in your ash heap from the game or burn the Hordes. The Hordes gets +1 strength for each life counter it has. It can never gain life; any life it gains goes to the blood bank instead. The Hordes can enter combat with any minion as aaction.
[NEC] As above, with 4 life.
Artist: Steve Ellis
A good question, which would almost warrant it's own topic. Thanks for bringing it up!
The two consecutive events are:
Minion A announces his strike (let's say: steat 2 blood).
Minion B announces his strike (let's say: hand strike for 4 damage).
Strikes resolve simultaneously: A steals 2 blood from B, B inflicts 4 damage on A
A decides to prevent or to heal damage.
Last edit: 18 Jun 2018 13:12 by Ankha.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Khalid1988
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
18 Jun 2018 13:17 #88248
by skimflux
Because you wrote 'Then the vampire takes 1 damage(...)', implying a sequence.
Replied by skimflux on topic Stealing life from Tunnel Runner
Thank you, but why are you saying the sequence is not correct?
Upon strike resolution:
The vampire steals 2 blood and takes 2 damage.
Then the vampire takes 1 damage from the Tunnel Runner's strike. The vampire ends up with 0 blood.
While the end result is the same, this sequence is wrong and a frequent cause of confusion.
(...)
Because you wrote 'Then the vampire takes 1 damage(...)', implying a sequence.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
18 Jun 2018 13:47 #88249
by Brum
I understand the sequence.
The issue is when does the Total Strength of the Minion counts for the damage.
It is not really clear for new players. Between strike declaration and damage resolution the Horde looses strength. (if it dies, that's a whole different point).
But that's ok, 'cause the strike's original strength is previously saved in a 'you might call it a stack or paralymbus or Azoressaurus or anything else'.
Replied by Brum on topic Stealing life from Tunnel Runner
There is no stack involved, unless you see two consecutive events as a stack (but don't blame the rules if you see stacks where there are none!)
Theft of Vitae vs Shambling Hordes is the stack in a stackless game.
'How much strength does Shambling Hordes hits the Tremere with?'
Name: Shambling Hordes
[FN:C2, LotN:PG4]
Cardtype: Ally
Cost: 3 blood
Discipline: Necromancy
Zombie with 3 life. 0 strength, 0 bleed.
[nec] When Shambling Hordes enters play, remove an ally or vampire in your ash heap from the game or burn the Hordes. The Hordes gets +1 strength for each life counter it has. It can never gain life; any life it gains goes to the blood bank instead. The Hordes can enter combat with any minion as aaction.
[NEC] As above, with 4 life.
Artist: Steve Ellis
A good question, which would almost warrant it's own topic. Thanks for bringing it up!
The two consecutive events are:
Minion A announces his strike (let's say: steat 2 blood).
Minion B announces his strike (let's say: hand strike for 4 damage).
Strikes resolve simultaneously: A steals 2 blood from B, B inflicts 4 damage on A
A decides to prevent or to heal damage.
I understand the sequence.
The issue is when does the Total Strength of the Minion counts for the damage.
It is not really clear for new players. Between strike declaration and damage resolution the Horde looses strength. (if it dies, that's a whole different point).
But that's ok, 'cause the strike's original strength is previously saved in a 'you might call it a stack or paralymbus or Azoressaurus or anything else'.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
18 Jun 2018 13:49 #88250
by skimflux
Agreed, there is no need for a stack here.
However you are missing the window 'before strike resolution' in your example, so I would clarify it like this:
1. Choose strike:
1.a Minion A announces his strike (steal 2 blood)
1.b Minion B (Shambling Hordes) announces his strike (hand strike for damage equals to his life - 4)
2. 'Before strike resolution' window can modify strike effects (eg, if Blood to Water is played the SH burns and combat ends)
3. Resolve Strike (both strikes resolve at the same time):
3.a. Determine strike effects (for both strikes: so the SH are hitting for 4, and Minion A is stealing 2 blood)
3.b. Apply strike effects
4. (If damage exists) Resolve damage
4.a Play/use damage prevention
4.b Heal/apply damage
Note that 3.a and 3.b are atomic (meaning no effects can change the game state between them) and not in the rulesbook, but I would argue that this breakdown exists implicitly, otherwise the results of the SH strike are undetermined/ambiguous (because during the Strike Resolution they will be both at 4 and 2 life)
Replied by skimflux on topic Stealing life from Tunnel Runner
There is no stack involved, unless you see two consecutive events as a stack (but don't blame the rules if you see stacks where there are none!)
Theft of Vitae vs Shambling Hordes is the stack in a stackless game.
'How much strength does Shambling Hordes hits the Tremere with?'
Name: Shambling Hordes
[FN:C2, LotN:PG4]
Cardtype: Ally
Cost: 3 blood
Discipline: Necromancy
Zombie with 3 life. 0 strength, 0 bleed.
[nec] When Shambling Hordes enters play, remove an ally or vampire in your ash heap from the game or burn the Hordes. The Hordes gets +1 strength for each life counter it has. It can never gain life; any life it gains goes to the blood bank instead. The Hordes can enter combat with any minion as aaction.
[NEC] As above, with 4 life.
Artist: Steve Ellis
A good question, which would almost warrant it's own topic. Thanks for bringing it up!
The two consecutive events are:
Minion A announces his strike (let's say: steat 2 blood).
Minion B announces his strike (let's say: hand strike for 4 damage).
Strikes resolve simultaneously: A steals 2 blood from B, B inflicts 4 damage on A
A decides to prevent or to heal damage.
Agreed, there is no need for a stack here.
However you are missing the window 'before strike resolution' in your example, so I would clarify it like this:
1. Choose strike:
1.a Minion A announces his strike (steal 2 blood)
1.b Minion B (Shambling Hordes) announces his strike (hand strike for damage equals to his life - 4)
2. 'Before strike resolution' window can modify strike effects (eg, if Blood to Water is played the SH burns and combat ends)
3. Resolve Strike (both strikes resolve at the same time):
3.a. Determine strike effects (for both strikes: so the SH are hitting for 4, and Minion A is stealing 2 blood)
3.b. Apply strike effects
4. (If damage exists) Resolve damage
4.a Play/use damage prevention
4.b Heal/apply damage
Note that 3.a and 3.b are atomic (meaning no effects can change the game state between them) and not in the rulesbook, but I would argue that this breakdown exists implicitly, otherwise the results of the SH strike are undetermined/ambiguous (because during the Strike Resolution they will be both at 4 and 2 life)
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
Time to create page: 0.101 seconds
- You are here:
-
Home
-
Forum
-
V:TES Discussion
-
Rules Questions
- Stealing life from Tunnel Runner