Question about TRAP card
29 Jun 2018 15:53 #88462
by jefersonziro
Question about TRAP card was created by jefersonziro
the TRAP card is played in the first round. In addition to this first round, will it grant a further 2 rounds, generating a total of 3 rounds throughout the combat if not another combat letter is played? Or will this card grant 3 rounds beyond the first, totaling 4 rounds throughout the match if not another combat card is played?
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- jefersonziro
-
Topic Author
- Offline
- Childe
-
Less
More
- Posts: 7
- Thank you received: 2
29 Jun 2018 16:16 #88463
by kschaefer
Easiest to take it round by round to answer the question:
Round 1: Trap played. Press step was a combat card played? Yes (Trap), press to continue.
Round 2: Was a combat card played? No. Was a combat card played in the previous round? Yes (Trap), press to continue.
Round 3: Was a combat card played? No. Was a combat card played in the previous round? No. Was a combat card played two rounds previous? Yes (Trap), press to continue.
Round 4: Was a combat card played? No. Was a combat card played in the previous round? No. Was a combat card played two rounds previous? No. Trap's text does not provide a press.
If someone plays a card in a later round Trap would start its evaluation all over beginning with that round.
Replied by kschaefer on topic Question about TRAP card
Name: Trap
Cardtype: Combat
Only usable before range is determined on the first round of combat.
During the press step, if any Methuselah has played a card earlier in the current round or during the two previous rounds, the Trap automatically provides a press to continue (either combatant can press to end).
Easiest to take it round by round to answer the question:
Round 1: Trap played. Press step was a combat card played? Yes (Trap), press to continue.
Round 2: Was a combat card played? No. Was a combat card played in the previous round? Yes (Trap), press to continue.
Round 3: Was a combat card played? No. Was a combat card played in the previous round? No. Was a combat card played two rounds previous? Yes (Trap), press to continue.
Round 4: Was a combat card played? No. Was a combat card played in the previous round? No. Was a combat card played two rounds previous? No. Trap's text does not provide a press.
If someone plays a card in a later round Trap would start its evaluation all over beginning with that round.
The following user(s) said Thank You: jefersonziro
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
29 Jun 2018 17:30 - 29 Jun 2018 17:30 #88464
by DJHedgehog
Replied by DJHedgehog on topic Question about TRAP card
He must not have liked my (extremely similar) response in FB chat

Last edit: 29 Jun 2018 17:30 by DJHedgehog.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- DJHedgehog
-
- Offline
- Elder
-
Less
More
- Posts: 187
- Thank you received: 69
30 Jun 2018 17:09 #88476
by Bloodartist
Smoking craters tell no tales.
—Tex talks Battletech
Replied by Bloodartist on topic Question about TRAP card
Easy way to calculate: it provides 3 presses. This amounts to total of 4 rounds of combat if no cards are played afterwards. (Trap itself is played at first round at least)
Smoking craters tell no tales.
—Tex talks Battletech
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- Bloodartist
-
- Offline
- Antediluvian
-
Less
More
- Posts: 979
- Thank you received: 170
Time to create page: 0.073 seconds
- You are here:
-
Home
-
Forum
-
V:TES Discussion
-
Rules Questions
- Question about TRAP card