question-circle True Faith vs Infernals - allowed strikes?

24 Jul 2019 11:09 - 24 Jul 2019 11:11 #95948 by Nauro
Recent game has left me with questions about a minion with True Faith* master, who enters combat with an Infernal minion. I hope to get a definite answer here.

What does it mean that Infernal minions "cannot strike this minion" - couldn't find a ruling about it yet (looked the rulings list and searched these forums).

1) Does the prohibition cover all strikes?
(if YES, all further questions are answered as NO and can be left unanswered)

Assume the infernal minion is in combat with a vampire or ally with True Faith. Can the infernal minion's controller play/use these strikes:
2) Can the infernal minion strike to dodge?
3) Can the infernal minion strike to end combat?
4.0.) If 3 is yes, can the infernal minion strike to end combat AND inflict some effect at the minion with True Faith master?
4.1.) eg. Morphean Blow** at val or VAL - it puts the card on the opposing minion - can this be done?
4.2.) eg Blissful Agony*** at VAL (provided the True Faith minion is a vampire and is a valid target). Can it be played?
4.3.1) eg. Catatonic Fear**** at PRE at close range, a combat end that inflicts damage after combat. Can Catatonic Fear be played at close range?
4.3.1) eg. Catatonic Fear at PRE, but at long range (so no damage would be dealt to the True Faith minion). Can Catatonic Fear be played at long range?
5) Can strikes targeting retainers be played?
6) Can strikes stealing equipment be played?

Thanks in advance.

Card Texts:
*
Name: True Faith
[BL:R2]
Cardtype: Master
Cost: 1 pool
Unique master.
Put this card on a non-infernal mortal ally you control, or pay 2 pool to put this card on any non-infernal minion you control. Actions requiring Dominate [dom] or Presence [pre] cannot be directed at this minion. In combat, any damage this minion inflicts on an infernal minion is aggravated. [b]Infernal minions cannot[/b] block or [b]strike this minion[/b]. Burn this card if this minion becomes infernal.
Artist: Talon Dunning


**
Name: Morphean Blow
[HttB:C/B2]
Cardtype: Combat
Cost: 1 blood
Discipline: Valeren/Celerity
Only usable at close range.
[cel] Strike: combat ends.
[val] Strike: combat ends, and put this card on the opposing minion. The attached minion cannot act or block. Burn this card at the end of the turn.
[VAL] As [val] above, and if this vampire was blocked while performing a non-bleed action, the action continues as if unblocked.
Artist: Michael Gaydos

***
Name: Blissful Agony
[BL:R1, LoB:R, HttB:PSal]
Cardtype: Combat
Cost: 1 blood
Discipline: Valeren/Animalism
[ani] Strike: hand strike at +1 damage.
[val] Only usable at close range before strikes are chosen. Opposing minion takes 1 unpreventable damage during strike resolution each round this combat when the range is close. A vampire may play only one Blissful Agony at [val] each combat.
[VAL] Strike: combat ends. Choose a minion controlled by a Methuselah other than the opposing vampire's controller. The opposing vampire enters combat with that minion.
Artist: Becky Cloonan

****
Name: Catatonic Fear
[Sabbat:U, SW:U, FN:PS, CE:PTo, LoB:PI2, Third:U]
Cardtype: Combat
Cost: 1 blood
Discipline: Presence
[pre] Strike: combat ends.
[PRE] As above, and inflict 1 damage to the opposing minion once combat ends if the range is close.
Artist: Clint Langley

Logic is for the weak.
Last edit: 24 Jul 2019 11:11 by Nauro.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 Jul 2019 11:16 #95949 by Nauro
As a sidenote, this seems to be the only instance of "cannot strike" + "at this minion" on a vtes card that I could find. Other "cannot strike" either just specify a duration, or a strike type (say "cannot strike: dodge", etc). Might this be a case of a card needing errata to match the other card wordings?

Logic is for the weak.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 Jul 2019 11:28 - 24 Jul 2019 11:42 #95951 by Nauro
Scowered the old google group and found nearly complete answers to my own question by LSJ:
groups.google.com/d/topic/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/hfHJhREQuPg/discussion

(infernal minion)
... can strike to end combat, since such a strike is not striking the faithful minion. (She could not use superior Catatonic Fear, however, since that would be striking the
faithful minion, which is prohibited.)

...

> But what about Oubliete ?
At superior, it is also a strike against the opposing minion.
It is a strike. It affects the opposing minion.

...
One could also strike to harm retainers employed by the faithful


asuming the rulings stand, it's probably:
1. No
2. Yes
3. Yes
4. ????
4.1. ??
4.2 ??
4.3.1 No
4.3.2 ???
5. Yes
6 Yes (probably same as 5)

Logic is for the weak.
Last edit: 24 Jul 2019 11:42 by Nauro.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.100 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum