Madness network and blocking the action to destroy it?		
	
	
			
	
						01 Sep 2019 15:21		 -  01 Sep 2019 15:23		#96693
		by Dada
	
	
		
			
					
Baron of Riihimäki
					
	
	
			 		
													
		
	
				Madness network and blocking the action to destroy it? was created by Dada			
			
				Tried to google, didn’t find anything relevant. Could u help me understand this card?
”Unique master.
Put this card in play. Untapped Malkavians can take actions in any Methuselah's minion phase (follow normal sequencing rules).” -this part is clear, no problem
”Any minion can burn this card as an action that any untapped Malkavian (in addition to the normally eligible blockers) can attempt to block.”
- this latter part of the card is causing me headache. It doesn’t say D-action, so is it directed against the controller? The way i understand it is this: Your own minions can block it normally. But malkavians controlled by other methuselahs can also block it IF they are already untapped when the action to remove it is announced(so no wake/2nd trad, eluding the arms of morpheus, etc.)
Do i understand this correctly?
							”Unique master.
Put this card in play. Untapped Malkavians can take actions in any Methuselah's minion phase (follow normal sequencing rules).” -this part is clear, no problem
”Any minion can burn this card as an action that any untapped Malkavian (in addition to the normally eligible blockers) can attempt to block.”
- this latter part of the card is causing me headache. It doesn’t say D-action, so is it directed against the controller? The way i understand it is this: Your own minions can block it normally. But malkavians controlled by other methuselahs can also block it IF they are already untapped when the action to remove it is announced(so no wake/2nd trad, eluding the arms of morpheus, etc.)
Do i understand this correctly?
Baron of Riihimäki
		Last edit: 01 Sep 2019 15:23  by Dada.			
			Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
			
	
						01 Sep 2019 15:52		 -  01 Sep 2019 15:53		#96694
		by jamesatzephyr
	
	
		
			
				
Yes. The presence or absence of the "
" symbol isn't what determines the directedness of the action.  But since you're burning someone else's Madness Network, it's directed at that card and the controlling Methuselah.
If they're unlocked, or able to block as though unlocked, when they announce their block attempt, they're able to block.
[LSJ 20041022]
					
	
	
			 		
													
		
				Replied by jamesatzephyr on topic Madness network and blocking the action to destroy it?			
			- this latter part of the card is causing me headache. It doesn’t say D-action, so is it directed against the controller?
Yes. The presence or absence of the "
Your own minions can block it normally. But malkavians controlled by other methuselahs can also block it IF they are already untapped when the action to remove it is announced(so no wake/2nd trad, eluding the arms of morpheus, etc.)
If they're unlocked, or able to block as though unlocked, when they announce their block attempt, they're able to block.
[LSJ 20041022]
> Player A controls the Madness Network. Anson, controlled by player B,
> attempts to burn it. A declines to block. Player C also controls a
> Malkavian, Ozmo, but he is tapped.
>
> Can Ozmo play Wake with Evening's Freshness (or Forced Awakening) and
> block the action, without need for Eagle's Sight?
Yes.
> The confusion arises from the fact that Madness Network mentions that
"any
> untapped Malkavian" can attempt to block and Wake allows the vampire to
> "attempt to block as though untapped". Is this sufficient to qualify for
> the Madness Network's definition of an "untapped Malkavian", or is the
Yes.
> Malkavian not eligible since even after playing Wake, he is still tapped?
He can block as if untapped, so that is enough.
		Last edit: 01 Sep 2019 15:53  by jamesatzephyr.			
			Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- jamesatzephyr
 - 
				
											 - Offline
 - Antediluvian
 - 
				
			 
		Less
		More
		
			
	
		- Posts: 2788
 - Thank you received: 958
 
			
	
						02 Sep 2019 09:34				#96714
		by Dada
	
	
		
			
					
Baron of Riihimäki
					
	
			
			 		
													
		
	
				Replied by Dada on topic Madness network and blocking the action to destroy it?			
			
				Thanks you!
Just to be sure, how about 2nd stradition or sense the savage way since they both force you to block as you play it?
							Just to be sure, how about 2nd stradition or sense the savage way since they both force you to block as you play it?
Baron of Riihimäki
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
			
	
						03 Sep 2019 08:38				#96732
		by jamesatzephyr
	
	
		
			
	
			
			 		
													
		
				Replied by jamesatzephyr on topic Madness network and blocking the action to destroy it?			
			
				My understanding of this historically is that you need to be an eligible blocker before you can play those cards that force an attempt to block.  So you can't - in other situations - play Second Tradition or Black Sunrise etc. to untap yourself and then play Eagle's Sight to make yourself an eligible blocker, as many players would quite like to do.
This sucks slightly from the point of view of Madness Network, where you would become an eligible blocker during the resolution of the card.
In the absence of a specific ruling (and I've tried to find one), in an off-the-cuff ruling situation in a tournament, I'd rule that you can't.
					This sucks slightly from the point of view of Madness Network, where you would become an eligible blocker during the resolution of the card.
In the absence of a specific ruling (and I've tried to find one), in an off-the-cuff ruling situation in a tournament, I'd rule that you can't.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- jamesatzephyr
 - 
				
											 - Offline
 - Antediluvian
 - 
				
			 
		Less
		More
		
			
	
		- Posts: 2788
 - Thank you received: 958
 
			
	
						07 Sep 2019 11:28		 -  07 Sep 2019 11:48		#96844
		by Kilrauko
	
	
		
			
				
Discussion about this was raised in the recent Stockholm stream. Can we get official word on whether or not locked malkavian prince can play 2nd tradition to unlock and attempt to block action to destroy their prey's madness network being destroyed by their grand-prey?
EDIT: Also Sense the savage way and other cards like it please?
							
					
Trust in Jan Pieterzoon.
					
	
	
			 		
													
		
	
				Replied by Kilrauko on topic Madness network and blocking the action to destroy it?			
			My understanding of this historically is that you need to be an eligible blocker before you can play those cards that force an attempt to block. So you can't - in other situations - play Second Tradition or Black Sunrise etc. to untap yourself and then play Eagle's Sight to make yourself an eligible blocker, as many players would quite like to do.
This sucks slightly from the point of view of Madness Network, where you would become an eligible blocker during the resolution of the card.
In the absence of a specific ruling (and I've tried to find one), in an off-the-cuff ruling situation in a tournament, I'd rule that you can't.
Discussion about this was raised in the recent Stockholm stream. Can we get official word on whether or not locked malkavian prince can play 2nd tradition to unlock and attempt to block action to destroy their prey's madness network being destroyed by their grand-prey?
EDIT: Also Sense the savage way and other cards like it please?
Trust in Jan Pieterzoon.
		Last edit: 07 Sep 2019 11:48  by Kilrauko.		Reason: Forgot the sense the savage way.	
			Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
			
	
						07 Sep 2019 12:10				#96846
		by Lech
	
	
		
			
					
					
 
 
 
 
 
Sabbat.Black Hand Shakar: Lech loathe ranged weapons. Once each action, he may burn 1 blood to become Camarilla Prince of Krakow until the end of the action.
					
	
			
			 		
													
		
	
				Replied by Lech on topic Madness network and blocking the action to destroy it?			
			
				I think that unlocked malkavian can second tradition it if they control the card, thankfully they can't if it's not theirs which is rather rare.			
							Sabbat.Black Hand Shakar: Lech loathe ranged weapons. Once each action, he may burn 1 blood to become Camarilla Prince of Krakow until the end of the action.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
		Time to create page: 0.091 seconds	
- You are here:
 - 
											Home
					
											
							
						
										
				 - 
											Forum
					
											
							
						
										
				 - 
											V:TES Discussion
					
											
							
						
										
				 - 
											Rules Questions
					
											
							
						
										
				 - Madness network and blocking the action to destroy it?
 
											
						