question-circle Draba timing

07 Jun 2020 12:18 #100041 by lip
Draba timing was created by lip
Situation: A → B → C
A plays Magic of the Smith :THA: at 3 stealth, B has a locked Prince and a Second Tradition: Domain in hand.

Must B declare wether he attempts (using Second Tradition) or declines to block before C has a chance to play Draba :CHI: ? Can he wait to see if C plays Draba and only use his Second Tradition in this case ?

Relevant ruling (maybe): [PIB 20150820] .

Bonus questions:
- Does the same timing apply for C to use an inferior :chi: Draba on A's vampire ?
- Does the same timing apply to Ignis Fatuus at inferior :chi: and superior :CHI: ?

The situation happened in game and we were curious to see if B had to commit and trust the Ravnos player, which is not the same as waiting for after he plays the card.


Draba


Second Tradition: Domain


Ignis Fatuus


Magic of the Smith

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 Jun 2020 14:40 #100043 by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic Draba timing
If B declines to block, the decision is final, unless the action changes targets.
So B needs to attempt to block first. Impulse goes back to A, then B (who is lacking the intercept but still attempting to block), then C who can play Draba.
Whether the action is blocked or not (by comparing stealth and intercept) is determined only when everyone has passed the impulse.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
The following user(s) said Thank You: blackkn8, lip

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
16 Jan 2021 12:34 #101444 by beslin igor
Replied by beslin igor on topic Draba timing
So in teory :
Situation: A → B → C
A plays Magic of the Smith :THA: at 3 stealth, B has unlocked minion,0 intercept,B can ask player C do you have Draba to help me,if C say: yes I have and want to play,B can declare atempt to block even with 0 intercept and him expect to C play Draba when C get impulse?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Jan 2021 07:50 #101454 by Snodig
Replied by Snodig on topic Draba timing
Yes. There is nothing stopping you from declaring an attempt to block while you do not have enough intercept. Technically, you do this all the time. You cannot play intercept you do not need, so in order to meet that requirement you must attempt to block with insufficient intercept.
The following user(s) said Thank You: hardyrange, beslin igor, lip

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.108 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum