file Prerange damage + Taste

14 Jan 2021 22:52 #101434 by yurian
Hello there,

I have a couple questions re combat cards, their effects and interactions.
1- Say vampire A has no blood, and plays Carrion Crows before range. Vamp B plays either Weather Control or Outside the Hourglass. Since damage resolution of the latter 2 cards take place before range, causing vamp A to go to torpor, do the Carrion Crows yet inflict damage on B during strike resolution? Or is it the case that there is no strike step, hence no damage taken by B (other than eventually Weather control)?

2- Besides, if vamp B would be ready at end of combat, can he play Taste of Vitae to gain blood, provided that opposing vampire A lost blood to damage cause of Weather Control (1 blood) / Outside the Hourglass (2 blood)?

Thanks for the response!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 Jan 2021 03:57 #101435 by lip
Replied by lip on topic Prerange damage + Taste
I'm no Ankha, but I'll try to help:

1- Say vampire A has no blood, and plays Carrion Crows before range. Vamp B plays either Weather Control or Outside the Hourglass. Since damage resolution of the latter 2 cards take place before range, causing vamp A to go to torpor, do the Carrion Crows yet inflict damage on B during strike resolution? Or is it the case that there is no strike step, hence no damage taken by B (other than eventually Weather control)?

That latter (no damage). [PIB 20140324]

2- Besides, if vamp B would be ready at end of combat, can he play Taste of Vitae to gain blood, provided that opposing vampire A lost blood to damage cause of Weather Control (1 blood) / Outside the Hourglass (2 blood)?

He can.
[RTR 20030519] , [LSJ 20031201]

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 Jan 2021 13:25 #101437 by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic Prerange damage + Taste

I'm no Ankha, but I'll try to help:

1- Say vampire A has no blood, and plays Carrion Crows before range. Vamp B plays either Weather Control or Outside the Hourglass. Since damage resolution of the latter 2 cards take place before range, causing vamp A to go to torpor, do the Carrion Crows yet inflict damage on B during strike resolution? Or is it the case that there is no strike step, hence no damage taken by B (other than eventually Weather control)?

That latter (no damage). [PIB 20140324]

Correct

2- Besides, if vamp B would be ready at end of combat, can he play Taste of Vitae to gain blood, provided that opposing vampire A lost blood to damage cause of Weather Control (1 blood) / Outside the Hourglass (2 blood)?

He can.
[RTR 20030519] , [LSJ 20031201]

Vamp B can play it even if no blood has been lost, in order to cycle.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.100 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum