file Prerange damage + Taste

16 Jan 2021 08:21 #101441 by yurian
Thanks for this.
Just a follow on question to conclude the thread :).
If vamp A would play the effect of Living Manse (This vampire gets +1 bleed. They can burn this card before range is determined to end combat. A vampire can have only one Living Manse.) before vamp B would play Weather Control / Outside the Hourglass, I assume combat ends and no chance to play either of these, right?
And if vamp A would execute the Living Manse effect "after" WC/OtH would be played, then I assume damage is inflicted, and then combat ends?
Appreciate the inputs.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
16 Jan 2021 08:55 #101443 by lip
Replied by lip on topic Prerange damage + Taste

Just a follow on question to conclude the thread :).


Don't hesitate to begin a new thread for a new question. Makes further research/reference easier.

If vamp A would play the effect of Living Manse (This vampire gets +1 bleed. They can burn this card before range is determined to end combat. A vampire can have only one Living Manse.)

Also, you're welcome to provide full card text when asking a question ☺︎

Living Manse

before vamp B would play Weather Control / Outside the Hourglass, I assume combat ends and no chance to play either of these, right?

Right.

And if vamp A would execute the Living Manse effect "after" WC/OtH would be played, then I assume damage is inflicted, and then combat ends?

Yes. [LSJ 19971110]
The following user(s) said Thank You: Ankha, yurian

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
16 Jan 2021 18:34 - 16 Jan 2021 18:56 #101446 by inm8
Replied by inm8 on topic Prerange damage + Taste

lip wrote:

And if vamp A would execute the Living Manse effect "after" WC/OtH would be played, then I assume damage is inflicted, and then combat ends?

Yes. [LSJ 19971110]


Just for clarity i assume you are referring to the first post of LSJ and not the latter one as the card text isn´t aligned with that one any longer. Time window for playing WC was changed from "beginning of combat" to be the same as OtH which is "before range" after the linked ruling was given by LSJ. The ruling is still relevant just not the last LSJ post for WC in particular.

First post - LSG wrote:
Robert Granat wrote:
> When exactly does Weather Control deal its damage?
At the beginning of each round of combat.

> For example, what if combat is ended by Mariel or Elysium: The Arboretum?
> Both effects are "before range." Does one have precedence?

Whichever is played first. Note that the acting minion's controller
always has first option to play a card or effect.


Ruling from KRCG / Codex of the Damned seems not right to me as explained above.

Ruling from Codex of the Damned says:
2. The damage will occur even if combat is subsequently ended before range (eg. by Mariel, Lady Thunder). [LSJ 19971110]

Last edit: 16 Jan 2021 18:56 by inm8.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Jan 2021 17:51 #101447 by yurian
Replied by yurian on topic Prerange damage + Taste
Thanks @lip. Duly noted

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Jan 2021 07:58 #101455 by lip
Replied by lip on topic Prerange damage + Taste

Just for clarity i assume you are referring to the first post of LSJ and not the latter one as the card text isn´t aligned with that one any longer.

The Codex links point to specific posts, although reading the rest of the thread can be enlightening. In this case, it refers to (emphasis mine):

But, since the effect is set up, and neither Elysium: Arboretum nor
Mariel can be used until "before range", WC's effect will take place
even if combat is ended in one of those two ways.


I would need a Rule's Director input to revert that ruling. I may have found and not listed a more recent confirmation. If you find a more recent confirmation or reversion, please do not hesitate to point me to it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Jan 2021 18:55 - 18 Jan 2021 18:56 #101464 by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic Prerange damage + Taste
Weather Control's cardtext has changed, so the whole argument "Weather Control gets first opportunity to be played ("beginning of combat" superceding "before range")." is moot.

The part about the damage needing to be resolved, no matter what, is still true.

For instance, A plays Weather Control. A decides to apply its effect ( A cannot pass the impulse since there is this mandatory effect to resolve ).
A can now pass the impulse in the damage resolution step.
B can burn the Living Manse, but the damage is still inflicted and must be handled.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
Last edit: 18 Jan 2021 18:56 by Ankha.
The following user(s) said Thank You: inm8, lip

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.139 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum