file Play/Steal Rack without ready vampire

19 Jan 2021 22:00 #101469 by beslin igor
The Rack
Unique location.

As this card is played or the controller of this card changes, the controller chooses a ready vampire they control. During the controller's unlock phase, the chosen vampire can gain 2 blood. A vampire controlled by another Methuselah can steal this location as a Ⓓ action.


Can you play or steal Rack if you have no ready vampire?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 Jan 2021 03:31 - 20 Jan 2021 03:34 #101470 by inm8

beslin igor wrote:
Can you play or steal Rack if you have no ready vampire?


No, you can’t play cards/trigger effects in play which you don’t meet the requirement for... in this case there needs to be a ready vampire to target.
Last edit: 20 Jan 2021 03:34 by inm8.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 Jan 2021 07:29 - 20 Jan 2021 07:30 #101471 by Timo
And I would note that it would be difficult to steal the rack without a ready vampire ^^

Actually, I see 2 ways to do it ^^ (well... let's say 2 variations of the same thing ^^)
Last edit: 20 Jan 2021 07:30 by Timo.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 Jan 2021 15:33 - 20 Jan 2021 15:33 #101474 by lip
I found no direct ruling on that. This post indicates that indeed you cannot: www.vekn.net/forum/rules-questions/76898-grotesque-requirements#89697
Last edit: 20 Jan 2021 15:33 by lip.
The following user(s) said Thank You: beslin igor

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 Jan 2021 21:19 #101475 by kschaefer
You have to have a ready vampire to take the action to steal The Rack.

Any effects that would send the vampire to torpor or burn them (Daring the Dawn, Day Operation) as part of the action occur after the action is resolved and part of that resolution would be targeting a ready vampire. I can't see a case where this problem would even come up.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 Jan 2021 22:06 #101476 by beslin igor
Lip actually Ankha in you link get answer about Rack,so you cannot play it without ready vampire:

Ankha wrote: Thanks for pointing out the interaction with the new rule. For now, you cannot "play" the Grotesque if you cannot fulfill the choice (that is a location not already chosen by another Grotesque). It is similar to The Rack when you control no ready vampire.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.150 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum