file If "form of mist" (played gets canceled, can you play a second one at superior?

09 Feb 2021 14:37 - 09 Feb 2021 14:44 #101587 by Hobbesgoblin
Player A wants to play "Form of mist" at superior
Player B cancels the card (i.e. Direct Intervention)

Can Player a Play another form of mist at superior?

My understanding always was that a canceld card is "played with an empty text box". meanig it retains the name of the card, but has no text, and therefore no effect.
Since the Name is preserved, it is considerd played by name, and you cannot play the card again if the card text prohibits you from doing so (Giants blood, Political Strangehold etc)

BUT Giant's blood, political stranglehold and co have the passus "only one X can be played as requirements.
Form of Mist is different. The prohibition of playing multiple copies of FoM at SUP during one action is tied to the discipline level, and my understanding would be, that canceling FoM also cacnels the Discipline from the card text with the level it was played at(as cancelning playes the card empty with name), therefore not triggering the clause.

Form of Mist
Warning: Spoiler!

Political Strangehold
Warning: Spoiler!

Direct Intervention
Warning: Spoiler!
Last edit: 09 Feb 2021 14:44 by Hobbesgoblin.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
09 Feb 2021 15:37 #101588 by beslin igor
No,you cannot,because of card text. Same is for Immortal Grapple,where IG can be played 1 time per round.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
09 Feb 2021 19:12 #101589 by kschaefer

beslin igor wrote: No,you cannot,because of card text. Same is for Immortal Grapple,where IG can be played 1 time per round.

Because of card text on the second copy. It prevents itself from being played.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
09 Feb 2021 19:23 - 09 Feb 2021 19:24 #101590 by Hobbesgoblin
Innortak grapple also has the text in it's requirements, prohibiting you to play a second copy of a card named "Imortal grapple" on ANY level

Form of msit has the text ONLY on superior, you can play SUP FoM, and then inf FoM, that is no problem

The question at the root is: Is the discipline level a canceld card was played at preserved.

Last edit: 09 Feb 2021 19:24 by Hobbesgoblin.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
09 Feb 2021 19:45 #101591 by kschaefer

Hobbesgoblin wrote: The question at the root is: Is the discipline level a canceld card was played at preserved.

Yes, the card was played a some level of discipline(s) and that is remembered.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Hobbesgoblin

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.103 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum