file Setting combat range

17 Feb 2021 13:55 #101640 by nergalmcl
Q1.
Vampire 1 plays Selective Silence and set the range to close, can Vampire 2 also plays Selective Silence and set the range to long?
(Same as Cailean using his ability vs Vampire 2 playing Selective Silence.)

Q2.
Vampire 1 play Fear of the Void Below, can Vampire 2 set the range with Selective Silence/or Cailean ability?


Selective Silence
Cardtype: Combat
Discipline: Quietus
Only usable during the first round of combat.
[qui] Maneuver.
[QUI] Only usable before range is determined. Burn 1 blood to set the range for this round.

Cailean
Cardtype: Vampire
Clan: Nosferatu antitribu
Sabbat Archbishop of Detroit: Each round of combat, before range is determined, Cailean can set the range for that round. If he does so, skip the Determine Range step for that round.

Fear of the Void Below
Cardtype: Combat
Cost: 1 blood
Discipline: Daimoinon/Obfuscate
A vampire may play only one Fear of the Void Below each combat.
[obf] Maneuver.
[dai] Only usable before range is determined. Each round of this combat defaults to long range, and this vampire gets an optional press each round, only usable to end combat.
[DAI] As [dai] above, and the opposing minion's controller discards one card at random from his or her hand during the initial strike resolution phase of each round.[/spoiler]

:assa: :QUI::cel::obf::aus: :cap4: Camarilla.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Feb 2021 15:27 - 17 Feb 2021 15:58 #101641 by inm8
Replied by inm8 on topic Setting combat range

nergalmcl wrote: Q1.
Vampire 1 plays Selective Silence and set the range to close, can Vampire 2 also plays Selective Silence and set the range to long?
(Same as Cailean using his ability vs Vampire 2 playing Selective Silence.)


No, whoever plays a "set the range .." effect first (following the normal priority of who has the impulse) decides what the range will be and no further range setting effects nor maneuvers can be played after that. [RTR 19970630] see under "CARD RULINGS 6)"

Other pre-range effects can still be played.

nergalmcl wrote: Q2.
Vampire 1 play Fear of the Void Below, can Vampire 2 set the range with Selective Silence/or Cailean ability?


No, same answer as above.

Would be a good additional note to the "1. Before Range" section saying that only one "set the range" effect can be in effect for a combat and cannot be trumped by another "set the range" card/effect and that when the "set the range" is in effect the "2. Determine Range" step is skipped and no maneuvers can be played.
Last edit: 17 Feb 2021 15:58 by inm8. Reason: grammar fix and suggestion of addition to the rules added
The following user(s) said Thank You: nergalmcl

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Feb 2021 16:12 #101643 by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic Setting combat range

inm8 wrote:

nergalmcl wrote: Q2.
Vampire 1 play Fear of the Void Below, can Vampire 2 set the range with Selective Silence/or Cailean ability?


No, same answer as above.

Would be a good additional note to the "1. Before Range" section saying that only one "set the range" effect can be in effect for a combat and cannot be trumped by another "set the range" card/effect and that when the "set the range" is in effect the "2. Determine Range" step is skipped and no maneuvers can be played.

Fear of the Void Below does not set the range. It changes the default range to long, but range can be set, or maneuvers can be used as normal.
So yes, you can set the range after Fear of the Void Below has been played.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
The following user(s) said Thank You: nergalmcl

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.086 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum