file Vidal Jarbeaux - Cards requiring "Prince"

12 Aug 2021 09:05 #102891 by Yomyael
Card text Vidal:

Camarilla: Vidal can meet the clan, sect, or non-infernal vampire trait (e.g., Black Hand) requirement to play any card. He can meet a given requirement only once each game. +1 bleed.

When Vidal meets the requirements of a card requiring a Prince, does he choose a specific city for that? If so, can he use cards requiring a Prince multiple times, choosing different cities every time?

In principle, my question is if the following ruling for Vlad Tepes holds for Vidal as well:

When meeting a requirement, the controller can choose how he meets it (eg. he can play {Anarch Secession} as a Prince of any city, even a made-up one). [PIB 20150306](www.vekn.net/forum/rules-questions/69627-vlad-tepes-regent?start=12#69696) [PIB 20150307](www.vekn.net/forum/rules-questions/69627-vlad-tepes-regent?start=18#69732)

Prince of Bonn, Germany

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Aug 2021 09:16 #102892 by Ankha

Card text Vidal:

Camarilla: Vidal can meet the clan, sect, or non-infernal vampire trait (e.g., Black Hand) requirement to play any card. He can meet a given requirement only once each game. +1 bleed.

When Vidal meets the requirements of a card requiring a Prince, does he choose a specific city for that?

Yes, but it only matters if it is relevant (Anarch Secession).

If so, can he use cards requiring a Prince multiple times, choosing different cities every time?

No, because all the card that require a generic Prince have the same requirement (which can only be met once, per cardtext).

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
The following user(s) said Thank You: Yomyael

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Oct 2021 11:28 - 19 Oct 2021 11:48 #103596 by Hobbesgoblin
Followup question:

Does Vidal have to specify a specific Sababt title to play under siege, or can he use the the generic "titles"-trait and the sect?

Related question: can vidal paly "rubicon" as "(titled)", a trait asociated with primarily independent vampires with votes, to fulfull the requirement?

Or is (titles) not a trait, and just a reminder-text?
Or are "has x votes (title)" it it's enterety the tiele, and can be therefore used fby vidal?

Under Siege

Rubicon
Last edit: 19 Oct 2021 11:48 by Hobbesgoblin.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Oct 2021 13:39 #103598 by Ankha

Followup question:

Does Vidal have to specify a specific Sababt title to play under siege, or can he use the the generic "titles"-trait and the sect?

An existing Sabbat title: once as bishop, once as archbishop, once as cardinal, and once as regent.

Related question: can vidal paly "rubicon" as "(titled)", a trait asociated with primarily independent vampires with votes, to fulfull the requirement?

He must choose a title.

groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/d_hgYPrdBkw/m/VqyIutR_2pcJ

Or is (titles) not a trait, and just a reminder-text?

Reminder text.

Or are "has x votes (title)" it it's enterety the tiele, and can be therefore used fby vidal?

"X votes" is a title, and Vidal can emulate it only once: he cannot emulate "2 votes" if he has already emulated "1 vote".

groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/d_hgYPrdBkw/m/_qwWS9QF8CUJ

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
The following user(s) said Thank You: Hobbesgoblin

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 Oct 2021 18:05 - 27 Oct 2021 18:50 #103700 by KoRneeshon
"Vidal can meet the clan, sect, or non-infernal vampire trait (e.g., Black Hand) [...] "

Why are the titles even discussed here? Are they "traits" by mean of Vidal text?
I always thought that traits are things like Black Hand, Seraph, Infernal, Flight, Slave, Sterile, Red List, Scarce - but *NOT* sects or titles.
Last edit: 27 Oct 2021 18:50 by KoRneeshon.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 Oct 2021 21:01 #103703 by Ankha

"Vidal can meet the clan, sect, or non-infernal vampire trait (e.g., Black Hand) [...] "

Why are the titles even discussed here? Are they "traits" by mean of Vidal text?

They are.

I always thought that traits are things like Black Hand, Seraph, Infernal, Flight, Slave, Sterile, Red List, Scarce

Those are traits too.

Traits are basically the bold terms found at the top of card text to give it
some kind of label. Clan and uniqueness are also traits."

But for the record:

A trait is a term used in card text (usually in bold at the top, not within the
prose) to give it some kind of label. It may have some rulebook-defined meaning
or effect, like "blood cursed" or "sterile", or it may not be defined by the
rules, like "ammo" or "seraph". It doesn't include capacity (a number) or
Disciplines, but does include clan, sect, title, advanced, circle, flight, and
so on. Basically anything that Seeds of Corruption doesn't count.

It also includes unique, even though vampires omit that trait from their texts
(since they are unique by default).

Vidal can meet the clan, sect, or non-infernal vampire trait (e.g. anarch)
requirement to play any card. He can meet a given requirement only once each
game. +1 bleed.

As far as Vidal is concerned, "non-<trait>" is also a trait (including other
forms like "untitled" or "with no title").

For Vidal in particular, note that the following are not traits (listed here for
Googling; these should be obvious from the above and/or from innate obviousness):

(un)tapped
(not) ready
younger/older
above/below certain capacity
contested
empty
with some amount/range of blood
with some card (like Aye, Kerrie, or True Faith)
same clan/sect/age/circle
can(not) commit diablerie
has(n't) commited diaberlie
(non-)acting
attempting to block
is bleeding/hunting
bled/hunted/acted/blocked (un)successfully
moved to the ready region since your last turn
controlled by another/the same Methuselah

And he cannot meet non-vampire traits (like "Mortal" or "Ghoul" or "Ammo" or creed).

Also for Googling, here's a list of some of the more FAQ-inducing traits that
Vidal can meet (not exhaustive):

Baron
Liaison
Caitiff
Inquisitor
Seraph
non-Camarilla
non-Red List

groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/e2PNDpg-l_c/m/zsGPhfQgLL8J

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.139 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum