exclamation-circle Catatonic Fear and Target Vitals/Retainer

22 Sep 2021 00:27 - 22 Sep 2021 00:31 #103248 by Dante1991
 

 

 

Question 1: Does Target Vitals or Target Retainer work with the damage from Superior Catatonic Fear?

Question 2: Is the damage from Catatonic Fear an Environmental Damage?
Attachments:
Last edit: 22 Sep 2021 00:31 by Dante1991.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
22 Sep 2021 04:19 #103249 by kschaefer

Question 1: Does Target Vitals or Target Retainer work with the damage from Superior Catatonic Fear?


Yes.

Question 2: Is the damage from Catatonic Fear an Environmental Damage?


 No. It is strike damage.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
22 Sep 2021 07:14 - 22 Sep 2021 07:17 #103253 by Bloodartist
Clarifying question: how can we tell if damage is environmental these days? 

is
"inflict X damage on opposing minion" -> strike damage
"Opposing minion takes x damage" -> environmental damage
correct interpretation?
Carrion crows got reworded, but theres still plenty of cards that use the second template. 

EDIT: Well, I suppose I answer my own question. If its a strike card doing damage then its not environmental I guess.. 

A heretic is a man who sees with his own eyes.
—Gotthold Ephraim Lessing



Last edit: 22 Sep 2021 07:17 by Bloodartist.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
22 Sep 2021 07:21 #103254 by Timo
It is more complicated than that.

outside the Hourglass is neither environemental nor strike damage for example.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
22 Sep 2021 12:38 #103263 by Ankha

Clarifying question: how can we tell if damage is environmental these days? 


Answer is: rulebook.

Environmental damage: Any damage not inflicted by a minion either as a strike, or by an explicit effect (“this minion inflicts...”) is environmental. Environmental damage can have no source (such as the damage inflicted by a Carrion Crows) or a non-minion source (such as the damage inflicted by a retainer).

Note that environmental damage cannot be dodged, since dodging only protects from the opponent’s strike.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
The following user(s) said Thank You: Rémi, Dante1991

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.507 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum