Ex Nihilo and Newsletter ruling
Q: Some cards ask the Methuselah to do “A or B” during the unlock or master phase, for instance Ex Nihilo (“During your master phase, this vampire burns 1 blood or is burned.”) Does the Methuselah get the choice between A and B?
A: Yes (this is a reversal for some cards). Those cards will be reprinted with “do B unless you do A” to make the choice more explicit. Some cards such as Fear of Mekhet don’t leave the choice and are explicitly written so (“During this vampire's unlock phase, they burn 5 blood. If they cannot burn the blood, they are burned.”)
Just to understand this correctly: it means that if a vampire with Ex Nihilo has zero blood in the master phase, he can now choose to "burn 1 blood" (which does nothing, as he has zero) instead of burning the vampire? Ex Nihilo just became stronger!
And if this is it... why the reversal? What was wrong with the previous reading of the card (which seems closer to designer intent)? And may I know what other cards are affected by the ruling (at least before their next reprint)? Thank you!
Emiliano "Sans Terre" - Wandering Player - Prince of Brussels
The ruling that is reversed said you have to burn 1 blood if you can. This is no longer the case.
Prince of Bonn, Germany
Maybe you have fame and there is agg dealing rusher on table, or maybe you're out of blood and another copy in inactive region ready to enter play.
edit: cross post with Yomyal.
No, a vampire with 0 blood can not choose to burn blood they don´t have thus leaving the option to burn the vampire as the only viable one.
Ex Nihilo has not been made stronger but restored to its original state.
The reversal corrects an incorrect ruling and aligns it to the original intent/design and to other similar cards (e.g. Antediluvian Awakening, Eye of Hazimel, Drink the Blood of Ahriman and Society of Leopold).
“During X, do B unless you do A” is to make the choice more explicit and clearer than what it is in the current format "During X, do A or B"
Here is a ruling of a scenario where LSJ could have pointed out that there wasn´t a choice to be made but he didn´t.
Also, check out the text of Society of Leopold which is very similar and includes reminder text making it clear that there is a choice intended.
Put this card in play. During each Methuselah's unlock phase, he or she burns 1 pool, or he or she may burn a vampire he or she controls with a capacity 4 or more to burn this card.
Cost: 1 blood
+1 stealth action.
Put this card on this vampire. This vampire gets +1 stealth, inflicts no damage in combat, and is immune to non-aggravated damage. This vampire cannot gain blood (instead, any blood they would gain goes to the blood bank). During your master phase, this vampire burns 1 blood or is burned. You can burn this card during your unlock phase.
As above, but you can burn this card during any Methuselah's unlock phase.
Cost: 3 pool
The bearer gets +1 bleed and +1 strength. The bearer can enter combat with a minion as a action. This vampire gets superior Potence and superior Chimerstry , and combat cards cost this vampire 1 fewer blood. While the bearer is ready, this equipment cannot be moved or stolen. If this equipment is burned, it inflicts 5 unpreventable environmental damage on the bearer. During your unlock phase, burn 1 pool or burn this equipment.
+1 stealth action.
Put this card on this Lasombra. This Lasombra gets +1 strength and cards requiring Obtenebration [obt] cost them 1 fewer blood. During your unlock phase, this Lasombra burns 1 blood or this card is burned. Burn this card if any ranged aggravated damage is inflicted on this vampire (even if prevented).
Put this card on a vampire. During his or her controller's unlock phase, the vampire with this card either burns 1 blood or is burned (the controller's choice). The vampire with this card can move it to any other vampire as a +1 stealth action.