file Super Govern, Enchant, etc.

15 Jul 2022 18:40 #105740 by kschaefer
From play last night, we had some players arguing that you do not need to name a target for superior Govern, Enchant, etc and others saying that you need to specify the target of the Govern when declaring the action. After an extensive search of Google groups I couldn't find anything on this.

So, do you need to specify the target of a superior Govern when playing it?

Govern the Unaligned
Warning: Spoiler!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 Jul 2022 22:28 - 15 Jul 2022 23:05 #105741 by Ke.
Replied by Ke. on topic Super Govern, Enchant, etc.
Yes. You have to specify the target younger vampire when declaring the action.

This has implications for things like current counters / brainwash etc...

It's covered by the rule book:

1. Announce the Action

All details of the action are defined when the action is announced, including the target(s), the cost, the effects, and so on. Any card required for the action is played (face up) at this time. Lock the acting minion (only ready unlocked minions can perform actions).

Last edit: 15 Jul 2022 23:05 by Ke..

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Jul 2022 06:58 #105751 by inm8
Replied by inm8 on topic Super Govern, Enchant, etc.
Besides the point Ke makes, one could argue that the ruling that a card retrieved from the ash heap has to be specified (e.g. Gear Up) is applicable as it card text wise use similar wording as Govern the Unaligned.

Gear Up
"Move a card from your ash heap to your hand."

Govern the Unaligned
"Add 3 blood to a younger vampire in your uncontrolled region."

Arguments against it are that cards in the ash heap are public information and the cards in the uncontrolled region are not making the above not applicable, plus that one is not allowed to reveal secret information which has been ruled , one is not to reveal the card targeted by superior GtU

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Jul 2022 09:51 #105752 by Lönkka
Replied by Lönkka on topic Super Govern, Enchant, etc.

one is not to reveal the card targeted by superior GtU


However, during tournaments if there is doubt you can always ask a Judge to come by and check that the target indeed was a legal one (ie. younger vampire).

Or in friendly games (where such doubt shouldn't even occur for normal people), an ousted player, or some random person present.

Finnish :POT: Politics!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Lönkka
  • Lönkka's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Antediluvian
  • Antediluvian
  • War=peace, freedom=slavery, ignorance=strength
More
18 Jul 2022 12:05 #105756 by inm8
Replied by inm8 on topic Super Govern, Enchant, etc.
To my understanding the question is about how to “correctly” play superior GtU, whether the targets name is to be announced or not, and not about preventing cheating or validating the legality of its target.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Jul 2022 15:47 #105763 by kschaefer
Close. Nothing about the target's name.

Just want to know if you're required to declare the uncontrolled vampire that you're placing the counters on.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.073 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum