file The Book of Going Forth by Night and Imbued

15 Aug 2022 21:56 #105986 by JeffPoole
If a minion with the Book of Going Forth by Night would burn an Imbued in combat, would he be able to steal that Imbued? Imbued go to the Incapacitated region instead of being burned, so the question is would that trigger other effects that happen "instead of being burned"?

Book of Going Forth by Night, The
Unique.
This vampire gets superior Serpentis SER. If an ally opposing this vampire in combat would be burned, instead steal and lock the ally; if the ally has lost their last life, they gain 1 life.

5. Incapacitated
When an imbued has no life, they are placed in the incapacitated region (controlled but not ready). Effects which are not usable by an ally being burned are not usable by an imbued being incapacitated. Any minion may burn an incapacitated imbued and take their equipment as a (D) action. If that action is successful, then each ready imbued may burn 1 conviction to inflict 1 unpreventable damage on that acting minion. An imbued may leave the incapacitated region and gain a life (not to exceed their starting life) by burning 3 conviction during their unlock phase.
Note that an imbued gains a life (not to exceed their starting life) if they leave the incapacitated region by any other effect, as well.

Prince of Los Angeles, California, USA

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
16 Aug 2022 06:34 - 16 Aug 2022 06:36 #105990 by Kraus
You would not be able to steal the Imbued by the Book's card text, if you only smash their heads and send them to the hospital. However, if you are equipped with the Book and burn the ally with cards like Blood to Water, Autonomic Mastery, Entombment or Liquefy the Mortal Coil, you would be able to steal the Imbued (burned during combat).

Cobra Fangs, however, should not work, since the burn clause is written outside of combat (at the end of action).

...and now I need to build an Aidan Lyle or Fakir al Sidi deck, with Magic of the Smith into Book of Going Forth by Night and Blood to Water. It'll be silly.

"Oh, to the Hades with the manners! He's a complete bastard, and calling him that insults bastards everywhere!"
-Nalia De-Arnise

Facebook @ VtES: Joensuu
www.vekn.net/forum-guidelines
Last edit: 16 Aug 2022 06:36 by Kraus.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
16 Aug 2022 07:25 #105993 by Ankha

You would not be able to steal the Imbued by the Book's card text, if you only smash their heads and send them to the hospital. However, if you are equipped with the Book and burn the ally with cards like Blood to Water, Autonomic Mastery, Entombment or Liquefy the Mortal Coil, you would be able to steal the Imbued (burned during combat).

Correct. An Imbued that goes to the incapacitated region is not burned and does not fulfill the Book's requirement.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.075 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum