file Thoughts Betrayed vs Shadow Court Satyr

10 Oct 2022 17:58 #106522 by mondragon
If a vampire play Superior Thoughts Betrayed, can an oppsing Shadow Court Satyr use the hability of the card that was put on him if that card was an strike card?


Name: Thoughts Betrayed
[DS:C2, SW:PV, FN:PG, CE:PTr2, Third:C]
Cardtype: Combat
Cost: 2 blood
Discipline: Dominate
Only usable before range is determined on the first round.

[DOM] Opposing minion cannot play any strike cards for the duration of this combat.


Name: Shadow Court Satyr
AKA: Shadow Court Satyr (Changeling)
[Sabbat:R, SW:R, Third:R]
Cardtype: Ally
Clan: Gangrel antitribu
Cost: 3 pool
Changeling with 3 life. 1 strength, 1 bleed.
When the Satyr enters play, you {can} put a combat card from your hand on him. Once each combat, the Satyr {can} use the ability of that card as if played from your hand. If the card requires a vampire (e.g., costs blood or requires a Discipline), he {can} use it as a vampire with the basic level of {1 of} the Discipline{(s)} (if any).

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 Oct 2022 19:09 - 10 Oct 2022 19:10 #106523 by kschaefer
Cards on SCS are played, cf. Target Vitals can be canceled. Thought Betrayed prevents the playing of strike cards, therefore it would prevent SCS from using its combat card to strike.
Last edit: 10 Oct 2022 19:10 by kschaefer. Reason: Typo
The following user(s) said Thank You: mondragon

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 Oct 2022 19:56 #106524 by Ankha

Cards on SCS are played, cf. Target Vitals can be canceled. Thought Betrayed prevents the playing of strike cards, therefore it would prevent SCS from using its combat card to strike.

Correct.
groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/5KVz6HCzjRs/m/mB9wnoLCinYJ

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
The following user(s) said Thank You: mondragon

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 Oct 2022 20:20 #106525 by mondragon
mmm Then a satyr with taste of vitae on it can be very dangerous if play a trap inst?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 Oct 2022 20:31 #106526 by inm8
Satyr would only be able to use the Taste of Vitae once.

“ Once each combat, the Satyr can use the ability of that card as if played from your hand.”
The following user(s) said Thank You: mondragon

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 Oct 2022 06:27 #106528 by lip
@ankha How do you reconcile this ruling with the previous ruling from 2001 that says Direct Intervention cannot be played against the combat card?
groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/x2EdFtlPs8Q/m/IPCbfV2Qct0J

A. You can cancel Target Vitals and any aim card as it is played using the card text option offered by those cards, but you cannot play another effect to cancel a card as it is played (eg. Direct Intervention)
B. You can cancel the combat card as it is played in all cases (REVERSAL of the 2001 ruling)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.056 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum