file Cross-table interactions and play to win

19 May 2023 02:29 #108117 by Nac
Hi

in a recent game (4 players), Player A torporized Players B 10-cap vampire at the start of the game, then cross-table player played a Kine Resources Contested on his turn and assigned 3 on player A. Player A argues it is contrary to the spirit of play to win, as it does not maximizes Player C either victoriy points or towards Game Win. Player A is at 12 pool.

We can always argue about it being and optimal or a fair action of play, I get it but: Is it a legal play?

Many thanks in advance

Kine Resources Contested

Allocate 4 points among two or more Methuselahs. Successful referendum means each Methuselah burns 1 pool for each point allocated.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 May 2023 03:42 - 19 May 2023 03:43 #108118 by kschaefer
If I were Player C and couldn't really handle the type of deck that Player A was fielding, but could oust it cross-table, I would. That would offer me the best long-term chance to win. Giving away a VP to remove a threat is totally play-to-win.

Ideally, I'd remove Player A and my prey at the same time, but sometimes you have to give away a VP to give yourself a chance for a longer game.
Last edit: 19 May 2023 03:43 by kschaefer.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Ashur

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 May 2023 06:38 #108121 by Ankha
It's legal, and probably stupid.
It's the early game, so B will probably recover by being rescued by D. B and D are slowed down, which is good for A and C.
(Remember that on a table of 4, it's only a matter of time before cross-table allies make deals to oust the other pair).
By playing a KRC on A, player C just loses time, resources against someone who will not be its prey before a long time, and just jeopardize any future deal or support of the cross-table player.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 May 2023 10:37 #108123 by Lönkka
Might be a smart move by C to prevent A growing too powerful and rolling over the entire table.

We have zero information how D was doing, how much pool and other minions B had, exactly what kind of decks players were playing etc etc.

Finnish :POT: Politics!
The following user(s) said Thank You: Hakuron

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Lönkka
  • Lönkka's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Antediluvian
  • Antediluvian
  • War=peace, freedom=slavery, ignorance=strength
More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.071 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum