file Vampires contestint titles

19 Aug 2023 13:42 #109093 by garou66
Hello,
what happens exactly when two Vampires with the same controller contest a Title (i.e. a Baron and a Prince of the same City)?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Aug 2023 14:27 #109094 by DavidR
Replied by DavidR on topic Vampires contestint titles
You will chose who will keep his title, pay the blood for tge chosen and the other lose his title, if you want to drain your own vampires (fir some reason that eludes me) you can pay for both, or don't pay the blood for both and in this case you chose the order, the first lose title the second keep

David Resende - Archbishop of Teresina
:sabbat::laso: :ani::pre::POT::DOM::OBT::cap8:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 Aug 2023 09:48 #109108 by inm8
Replied by inm8 on topic Vampires contestint titles
Blood is only paid if choosing to continue to contest a title being contested i.e. it could result in both vampires loosing their title for two rounds and then one recovers it, during the first next unlock one vampire yields the title and the other doesn’t need to pay any blood as it isn’t contested any longer and then during the next unlock phase the vampire that didn’t yielded the title recovers the one they had

Contested Titles

Some titles are unique. For example, there can be only one prince or baron of a particular city (see Vampiric Sects). If more than one vampire in play claims the same title, then the title is contested. While the title is being contested, the vampires involved in the contest are treated as if they have no title, but they remain controlled and may act and block as normal.

The cost to contest a title is 1 blood, which is paid by the vampire during each of their unlock phases. Instead of paying the cost to contest the title, the vampire may choose to yield the title (or may be forced to yield, if they have no blood to pay). Only ready vampires can contest titles. Vampires in torpor must yield during the unlock phase.

If all other vampires contesting a title with your vampire have yielded the contest, then your vampire acquires the title during your next unlock phase, ending the contest.

The vampire yielding the title will now have no title and loses the benefits of the title for the remainder of the game.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
21 Aug 2023 19:49 - 21 Aug 2023 19:49 #109118 by Bloodartist

Hello,
what happens exactly when two Vampires with the same controller contest a Title (i.e. a Baron and a Prince of the same City)?


During the unlock phase of the player controlling one of the vampires that are contesting a title, that player chooses whether to continue contesting. If they choose to continue, the contesting vampire pays 1 blood. Note that if the vampire has no blood, they must yield.

If the player chooses to yield, the vampire does not pay anything and loses the benefit of the title permanently.

While the contest is ongoing, neither vampire has the benefit of the title.

note: Previously barons paid an extra blood for contesting their baron title, but this rule was removed few years back. Now all vampires pay the same amount for their title contests: 1 blood.

A heretic is a man who sees with his own eyes.
—Gotthold Ephraim Lessing



Last edit: 21 Aug 2023 19:49 by Bloodartist.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 Aug 2023 18:33 - 24 Aug 2023 18:42 #109149 by lip
Replied by lip on topic Vampires contestint titles
There were a few inaccurate answers here. You're talking about two vampires contesting a title while having the same controller.

See [LSJ 20050331] :

During his unlock phase, the controller decides who contests (pays a blood) and who yields (does not pay). He can decide to have both contest or both yield. If he decides to have only one contest the title, this vampire pays a blood and will get his title back during the next unlock phase, not the current one.
Last edit: 24 Aug 2023 18:42 by lip.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Hakuron, inm8

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 Aug 2023 18:46 - 24 Aug 2023 18:51 #109151 by inm8
Replied by inm8 on topic Vampires contestint titles
interesting ruling, my answer was solely based on the rulebook and I assumed that during the unlock one had to handle whether each vampire would contest the title independently and thereby be allowed to sequence the decision of each vampire, thus leading to that if the first vampire yielded the title it wouldn't count as contested title any longer for the second vampire and thereby they would get the title during next unlock phase and not have to pay any blood..

Why doesn't it work as I thought alt why does it work as per the ruling?

The cost to contest a title is 1 blood, which is paid by the vampire during each of their unlock phases.

If all other vampires contesting a title with your vampire have yielded the contest, then your vampire acquires the title during your next unlock phase, ending the contest.

Last edit: 24 Aug 2023 18:51 by inm8.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.070 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum