file Vlad Tepes Makes Third Tradition Progeny as the Justicar of a Non-Camarilla Clan

18 Jan 2024 08:17 - 18 Jan 2024 08:19 #110401 by inm8
How does Anarch Secession care more about the city than what Third Tradition: Progeny cares about the clan?

Does the difference come from that one requires a title vs a Prince?

Anarch Secession
+1 stealth action. Requires a ready, non-anarch, titled vampire.
This vampire becomes {Anarch}. If he or she had a city title, put this card on him or her as a title card to represent the title of baron of the same city. Minions without titles cannot block this action.

Third Tradition: Progeny
+1 stealth action. Requires a ready non-Sterile prince or justicar.
Put this card in play; it becomes a non-unique 1-capacity {Camarilla} vampire of the same clan as the acting vampire. You may go through your library (shuffle afterward), ash heap or hand to find a Discipline card for this vampire. Move up to 2 blood from the acting vampire to this vampire. This vampire cannot take any actions this turn.
Last edit: 18 Jan 2024 08:19 by inm8.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Jan 2024 08:26 - 18 Jan 2024 08:46 #110402 by Ankha

How does Anarch Secession care more about the city than what Third Tradition: Progeny cares about the clan?

Does the difference come from that one requires a title vs a Prince?

Anarch Secession
+1 stealth action. Requires a ready, non-anarch, titled vampire.
This vampire becomes {Anarch}. If he or she had a city title, put this card on him or her as a title card to represent the title of baron of the same city. Minions without titles cannot block this action.

"of the same city" (explicit cardtext).
EDIT: more precisely: " If he or she had a city title... of the same city".

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
Last edit: 18 Jan 2024 08:46 by Ankha.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Jan 2024 09:01 - 18 Jan 2024 09:02 #110404 by inm8



Anarch Secession


Third Tradition: Progeny
+1 stealth action. Requires a ready non-Sterile prince or justicar.
Put this card in play; it becomes a non-unique 1-capacity {Camarilla} vampire of the same clan as the acting vampire. You may go through your library (shuffle afterward), ash heap or hand to find a Discipline card for this vampire. Move up to 2 blood from the acting vampire to this vampire. This vampire cannot take any actions this turn.


Still don't understand how you are interpreting them as different.
" If he or she had a city title... of the same city" is not a requirement and Vlad doesn't have a city title, still he gets to fake a city which is a lower denominator for AS but he doesn't get to fake the clan that also is a lower denominator for TT:P.
Last edit: 18 Jan 2024 09:02 by inm8.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Jan 2024 10:53 #110405 by Ankha



Anarch Secession


Third Tradition: Progeny
+1 stealth action. Requires a ready non-Sterile prince or justicar.
Put this card in play; it becomes a non-unique 1-capacity {Camarilla} vampire of the same clan as the acting vampire. You may go through your library (shuffle afterward), ash heap or hand to find a Discipline card for this vampire. Move up to 2 blood from the acting vampire to this vampire. This vampire cannot take any actions this turn.


Still don't understand how you are interpreting them as different.
" If he or she had a city title... of the same city" is not a requirement and Vlad doesn't have a city title, still he gets to fake a city which is a lower denominator for AS but he doesn't get to fake the clan that also is a lower denominator for TT:P.

No, the clan tied to the title isn't explicitly mentionned on TT:P, contrary to the city tied to the title on AS.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Jan 2024 08:44 - 19 Jan 2024 08:53 #110413 by KoRneeshon
I think that it's important that becoming baron by AS is just optional part, so it is not a requirement, thus Vlad should be seen only as titled vampire, but not with a city title (by your logic Ankha, "Camarilla < Prince" is lower common denominator than "Camarilla < Prince < of X"), and only becoming an anarch after AS is applied, not a baron.
Vlad only fakes requirements and nothing else. Does AS require a city title? No, it doesn't.
Last edit: 19 Jan 2024 08:53 by KoRneeshon.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Jan 2024 10:42 - 19 Jan 2024 10:46 #110415 by Ankha

I think that it's important that becoming baron by AS is just optional part, so it is not a requirement, thus Vlad should be seen only as titled vampire, but not with a city title (by your logic Ankha, "Camarilla < Prince" is lower common denominator than "Camarilla < Prince < of X"), and only becoming an anarch after AS is applied, not a baron.
Vlad only fakes requirements and nothing else. Does AS require a city title? No, it doesn't.

AS requires a titled vampire.
Vlad can choose any title that fits the requirement (the same way Vidal Jarbeaux can in order to play for instance a Parity Shift once as the Prince of whatever city, and once as the Justicar of whatever clan).

If AS were not refering specifically refering to city titles, then the card wouldn't care about whever Vlad is Prince of London, primogen or something else. But it's not the case, so if Vlad plays the card as the Camarilla Prince of London, he would get the Anarch title of the Baron of London.

Now TT:P requires a prince or justicar. Vlad can play it as the Camarilla Prince of London, or the Camarilla Giovanni Justicar.
Since TT:P doesn't explicitly cares about the title for its resolution, the lowest common denominator is Camarilla Prince or Camarilla Justicar (which has no effect on the resolution of the card; it could if it had a clause such as "if this vampire is a Justicar, you can search an additional skill card to put on the vampire"), and the clan used by TT:P is Vlad's clan.

So you play the card with a title Vlad chooses in full, then you apply the minimal matching parts.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
Last edit: 19 Jan 2024 10:46 by Ankha.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.083 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum