file Does Drawing Out the Beast cancels passive effects from equipment cards?

21 Nov 2023 11:40 #109884 by Coyote
Does the "cannot use equipment" from "Drawing Out the Beast" cancels passive effects like having [SER] from a "The Book of Going Forth by Night" or only effects that require the player to actively use them?

Drawing Out the Beast

The Book of Going Forth by Night

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
22 Nov 2023 09:00 #109892 by Ankha

Does the "cannot use equipment" from "Drawing Out the Beast" cancels passive effects like having [SER] from a "The Book of Going Forth by Night" or only effects that require the player to actively use them?


The former.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
The following user(s) said Thank You: Coyote

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
22 Nov 2023 12:52 #109895 by inm8
Not that it is needed, previous ruling aligned with the above formulated a bit clearer.

> 1. Drawing out the Beast prohibits the opposing vampire from using
> equipment.
>
> 2. Some "effects" of equipment can be described as an actual "event",
> "action" or "individual use" (such as using a flamethrower as a strike
> to deal aggravated damage). Other times, equipment might give a minion
> a certain "passive" or "aura" effect (borrowing terminology from WC3)
> that is considered always effective without an actual declaration of
> use (such as the Eye of Hazimel's granting of extra disciplines).
If it applies to the minion, and is not a restriction (cannot
hunt), then it is "using" it.

The following user(s) said Thank You: Coyote

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
23 Nov 2023 06:29 #109905 by Ankha

Not that it is needed, previous ruling aligned with the above formulated a bit clearer.

> 1. Drawing out the Beast prohibits the opposing vampire from using
> equipment.
>
> 2. Some "effects" of equipment can be described as an actual "event",
> "action" or "individual use" (such as using a flamethrower as a strike
> to deal aggravated damage). Other times, equipment might give a minion
> a certain "passive" or "aura" effect (borrowing terminology from WC3)
> that is considered always effective without an actual declaration of
> use (such as the Eye of Hazimel's granting of extra disciplines).
If it applies to the minion, and is not a restriction (cannot
hunt), then it is "using" it.


Thanks, I couldn't find it.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
The following user(s) said Thank You: beslin igor, Coyote

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 Nov 2023 20:10 #109921 by beslin igor
sorry, about us who don't do well with English,if you play Drawing Out the Beast, will oposing vampire having (SER) with "The Book of Going Forth by Night" or not(same for Eye of Hazimel about POT or CHI)?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
25 Nov 2023 01:22 - 25 Nov 2023 01:23 #109923 by inm8

sorry, about us who don't do well with English,if you play Drawing Out the Beast, will oposing vampire having (SER) with "The Book of Going Forth by Night" or not(same for Eye of Hazimel about POT or CHI)?


The opposing vampire would not benefit from the discipline(s) (or other effects) provided by equipment(s) for the duration of the combat that is under the effect of DOtB
Last edit: 25 Nov 2023 01:23 by inm8. Reason: Spelling
The following user(s) said Thank You: beslin igor

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.058 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum