file Blood Cult Awareness Network and Feast of the Soul's Secrets

17 Jan 2024 21:38 #110395 by inm8
Questions came up in FB per below

1) If Blood Cult Awareness Network is in play, does the new card Feast of the Soul's Secrets at superior cost 2 blood and gets -1 stealth?

Assume below ruling is applicable and the answer is yes?!
groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/Kok_AGc9i68/m/tiI176IwHKkJ

2) If the FotSS action succeeds but the bleed amount is reduced to zero, does it still incur an additional cost since it doesn't meet the criteria stated on BCAN?

I would say it still meets the criteria of BCAN as the superior FotSS action doesn't stop being an action that adds counters to an uncontrolled vampire just because the conditional requirement isn't met to allow the effect to resolve in full and thus the cost with the addition of BCAN is to be paid.

Blood Cult Awareness Network


Feast of the Soul's Secrets

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Jan 2024 07:30 #110399 by Ankha

Questions came up in FB per below

1) If Blood Cult Awareness Network is in play, does the new card Feast of the Soul's Secrets at superior cost 2 blood and gets -1 stealth?

Assume below ruling is applicable and the answer is yes?!
groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/Kok_AGc9i68/m/tiI176IwHKkJ

Indeed. It is an action that "add counters to an uncontrolled vampire".

2) If the FotSS action succeeds but the bleed amount is reduced to zero, does it still incur an additional cost since it doesn't meet the criteria stated on BCAN?

Yes, it still costs 1 additional blood.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
The following user(s) said Thank You: inm8

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Jan 2024 12:05 #110406 by DavidR
If the player choose to use FotSS basic effect while BCAN are in play he avoid the extra blood cost and stealth penalty, correct?

David Resende - Archbishop of Teresina
:sabbat::laso: :ani::pre::POT::DOM::OBT::cap8:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Jan 2024 14:45 #110407 by inm8
Yes as that is not an action that add counters to an uncontrolled vampire
The following user(s) said Thank You: DavidR

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Jan 2024 16:15 #110409 by kschaefer

1) If Blood Cult Awareness Network is in play, does the new card Feast of the Soul's Secrets at superior cost 2 blood and gets -1 stealth?

Assume below ruling is applicable and the answer is yes?!
groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/Kok_AGc9i68/m/tiI176IwHKkJ

Indeed. It is an action that "add counters to an uncontrolled vampire".


I think the original ruling is partially complete and the we never addressed the resolution end of the action. It's clear that the questions was about declaration.

When you declare the action of Feast of Soul's Secrets at superior, it will get -1 stealth and cost an additional blood, meaning you have to have enough available blood when you announce the action to cover the additional cost. The superior affect _could_ add blood to the uncontrolled, so we must account for that.

When the action resolves, you know if the bleed is successful and if so, what vampire will be targeted. Since payment and resolution are atomic and we check costs twice (once when announcing and again when paying), the additional cost for Blood Cult Awareness Network may no longer be applicable.

The original ruling is clear the the cards, like Undue Influence and Feast of the Soul's Secrets, need to start with the Blood Cult Awareness Network modifications, but it unclear to me from that too short of a ruling that if should _always_ affect an action, even if at resolution time, there is no blood given to uncontrolled vampires.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Jan 2024 04:05 - 19 Jan 2024 04:17 #110410 by inm8
Assume you want an answer from Ankha but here is my take on it.

The referenced ruling of LSJ for Undue Influence which was confirmed here to be applicable was about whether the action though conditional on the success of the bleed still counts as an action that add counters to an uncontrolled vampire….which it does.

The second question here (which at least I was unable to find an old ruling for) which Ankha has ruled on answers that BCAN’s effect Is applicable independently from whether the condition that allows the adding of counters is met or not as that doesn’t change what kind of action it is, BCAN cares about the kind of action it is and not whether the effect is applied successfully when increasing the cost of the action (which is only paid if the action reaches resolution successfully).

“[…] any action […] to add counters to an uncontrolled vampire […] costs an additional blood or life.”

To be dependent on the successful application of the effect it would need to say

“[…] any action […] that successfully adds counters to an uncontrolled vampire […] costs an additional blood or life.”
Last edit: 19 Jan 2024 04:17 by inm8.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.096 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum