file Questions about dodge, combat ends and strike resolution

10 Apr 2024 08:26 #111160 by acbishop
Hi Vincent,

As I'm coming back to the game after a 10 years period in torpor I would want to clarify a quick couple of things.


Strike resolution order.

When we were playing together in Paris 2005-2015 we always followed this order of resolution:

1) Strike Dodge
2) Strike Combat Ends
3) First Strike
4) Normal Strike
5) Additional Strikes

Was this order correct in 2005-2015?

or was it just an "easy" way to explain that dodge will cancel the effect of the opposing strike even if it is a combat ends on the dodging minion?

The reason I'm asking is because I've seen now the V5 Rules reference the following regarding dodge and combat ends (and there is some argument in the Spanish VTES whatsApp group, so if I am wrong I'm happy to admit that I'm wrong):

Dodge: A dodge strike deals no damage, but it protects the dodging minion
and their possessions from the effects of
the opposing strike. Retainers are not
protected, however. A dodge is effective
at any range. A dodge protects even from
the effects of a strike done with first strike
(see First Strike, p. 34). A dodge is a strike,
even though it is solely defensive. It represents the activity of the minion during that
pair of strikes.

Combat Ends: This effect ends combat immediately. This type of strike is always the
first to resolve, even before a strike done
with first strike (see First Strike, p. 34),
and it ends combat before other strikes or
other strike resolution effects are resolved.
Combat ends is effective at any range.
Combat ends is not affected by a dodge,
since dodge only cancels effects that are
directed at the dodging minion.


Should I assume that now the order is:

X) Strike Dodge - no established order but will cancel effect of opposing strike on the dodging minion) not on their retainers)
1) Strike Combat Ends
2) First Strike
3) Normal Strike
4) Additional Strikes

is it still the case that we can avoid the damage of Catatonic Fear or Riposte with strike:dodge?

Catatonic Fear
Type
Combat
Cost
1 Blood
Card Text
:pre: Strike: combat ends.
:PRE: As above, and inflict 1 damage to the opposing minion once combat ends if the range is close.


Riposte
Type
Combat
Cost
1 Blood
Card Text
Not usable on the first round of combat.
:cel: Strike: combat ends, and inflict 1 damage to the opposing minion once combat ends if the range is close (damage not preventable).
:CEL: As above, but inflict 2 damage.

:vtes:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 Apr 2024 09:33 - 10 Apr 2024 09:34 #111162 by Ankha

When we were playing together in Paris 2005-2015 we always followed this order of resolution:

1) Strike Dodge
2) Strike Combat Ends
3) First Strike
4) Normal Strike
5) Additional Strikes

Was this order correct in 2005-2015?

You're mixing up different things but it is approximatively correct.

or was it just an "easy" way to explain that dodge will cancel the effect of the opposing strike even if it is a combat ends on the dodging minion?

It doesn't cancel it, but approximatively yes.

The reason I'm asking is because I've seen now the V5 Rules reference the following regarding dodge and combat ends (and there is some argument in the Spanish VTES whatsApp group, so if I am wrong I'm happy to admit that I'm wrong):


Dodge: A dodge strike deals no damage, but it protects the dodging minion
and their possessions from the effects of
the opposing strike. Retainers are not
protected, however. A dodge is effective
at any range. A dodge protects even from
the effects of a strike done with first strike
(see First Strike, p. 34). A dodge is a strike,
even though it is solely defensive. It represents the activity of the minion during that
pair of strikes.

Combat Ends: This effect ends combat immediately. This type of strike is always the
first to resolve, even before a strike done
with first strike (see First Strike, p. 34),
and it ends combat before other strikes or
other strike resolution effects are resolved.
Combat ends is effective at any range.
Combat ends is not affected by a dodge,
since dodge only cancels effects that are
directed at the dodging minion.

They haven't changed.

is it still the case that we can avoid the damage of Catatonic Fear or Riposte with strike:dodge?

Yes.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
Last edit: 10 Apr 2024 09:34 by Ankha.
The following user(s) said Thank You: acbishop

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.069 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum