"Does not lock for the block" vs rulebook
18 Jun 2025 10:50 #114719
by Hobbesgoblin
"Does not lock for the block" vs rulebook was created by Hobbesgoblin
There are five cards that say that the vampire does not lock for a successful block
The problem now is, the rulebook states since 2019
On a very strict reading of the rulebook, that would mean that these three cards also stop combat from happening.
I think I've read this question before, but I can't find the thread anymore.
But I think we all can agree that these cards do not, in fact, stop the block combat from happening. I just want RD confirmation—be it anew or from an old thread—and the reasoning why the rulebook does not apply here.
- Atonement
- Read the Winds
- Guardian Vigil
- Justine, Elder of Dallas
- Durga Syn
The problem now is, the rulebook states since 2019
If the action is blocked, then any card played to perform the action is burned and the block is resolved with these two simultaneous consequences: the blocking minion is locked and enters combat with the acting minion (see Combat). If an effect ends the action before the block resolution or one of these two consequences (such as entering combat), neither consequence occurs.
On a very strict reading of the rulebook, that would mean that these three cards also stop combat from happening.
I think I've read this question before, but I can't find the thread anymore.
But I think we all can agree that these cards do not, in fact, stop the block combat from happening. I just want RD confirmation—be it anew or from an old thread—and the reasoning why the rulebook does not apply here.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- Hobbesgoblin
-
Topic Author
- Offline
- Elder
-
Less
More
- Posts: 172
- Thank you received: 48
18 Jun 2025 12:49 #114723
by DavidR
David Resende - Prince of Teresina



:OBL:
Replied by DavidR on topic "Does not lock for the block" vs rulebook
On the rulerbook in the "important terms in the game" have this:
The Golden Rule for Cards: Whenever the cards contradict the rules, the cards take precedence.
this is why these cards avoid the lock part of blocking combat
The Golden Rule for Cards: Whenever the cards contradict the rules, the cards take precedence.
this is why these cards avoid the lock part of blocking combat
David Resende - Prince of Teresina







Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
18 Jun 2025 13:48 #114724
by Oracle.kid
There is no contradiction. As quoted by Hobbes, the rulebook explicitly states "If an effect ends (...) one of these two consequences (such as enteringcombat locking the blocker), neither consequence occurs.
To apply golden rule, the cards would have to read "do not lock for the block, combat still ensues".
Replied by Oracle.kid on topic "Does not lock for the block" vs rulebook
On the rulerbook in the "important terms in the game" have this:
The Golden Rule for Cards: Whenever the cards contradict the rules, the cards take precedence.
this is why these cards avoid the lock part of blocking combat
There is no contradiction. As quoted by Hobbes, the rulebook explicitly states "If an effect ends (...) one of these two consequences (such as entering
To apply golden rule, the cards would have to read "do not lock for the block, combat still ensues".
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- Oracle.kid
-
- Offline
- Neonate
-
Less
More
- Posts: 35
- Thank you received: 13
18 Jun 2025 15:24 #114725
by DavidR
David Resende - Prince of Teresina



:OBL:
Replied by DavidR on topic "Does not lock for the block" vs rulebook
humm i see, lets put mirror walk on the talk too then, that card adress only one of the consequences too
the "neither consequences occurs" must be there for some other reason that i cant see right now
the "neither consequences occurs" must be there for some other reason that i cant see right now
David Resende - Prince of Teresina







Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
Time to create page: 0.078 seconds
- You are here:
-
Home
-
Forum
-
V:TES Discussion
-
Rules Questions
- "Does not lock for the block" vs rulebook