Rotschreck question
25 Jun 2025 21:13 #114783
by Nac
Rotschreck question was created by Nac
Hi
A) What constitutes an "attempt" by Rotschreck text?
B) Is Rotschreck played after that declared strike "as played" window or is it played on the played window?
I'm asking because "attempting" strike is not resolved (I asked about it last time) so I couldn't figure it out if was possible to cancel it prior to Rotschreck impeding it to resolve.
Game scenario is like this: Tzimisce A acts, Salubri AT B blocks. A play no cards and strikes for 3, vampire B plays Sculpt the Flesh at basic and Rotschreck. Now, I guess we all had that "you should have asked for Sculpt the Flesh to resolve because I can Death Seeker it/you are only canceling it now that you know I have Rotschreck" but that made me wonder if you can actually cancel that strike and what is the reach of that attempting verb on Rotschreck. In any other play I'd have said you can cancel it and if so, no Rotschreck but since Rotschreck "cancels" both strikes, I preferred asking. It was casual setting so not a big deal but I fear for the time when it happens on tournament.
Many thanks in advance
EDIT: mistake at locating post on proper section.
Rötschreck
Master: out-of-turn. Frenzy.
Put this card on a vampire when an opposing minion attempts to inflict aggravated damage on him or her, whether the damage would be successfully inflicted or not. Combat ends. This vampire is locked and sent to torpor. This vampire does not unlock as normal. During this vampire's next unlock phase, burn this card.
Sculpt the Flesh
Protean Strike: hand strike, aggravated.
Superior Protean Strike: hand strike at +1 damage, and put this card on the opposing minion. During their unlock phase, the attached minion burns 1 blood or life. Minions can burn this card as a +1 stealth action.
Death Seeker
A vampire can play only one Death Seeker each round.
Cancel a combat card played by the opposing minion as it is played, and its cost is not paid.
A) What constitutes an "attempt" by Rotschreck text?
B) Is Rotschreck played after that declared strike "as played" window or is it played on the played window?
I'm asking because "attempting" strike is not resolved (I asked about it last time) so I couldn't figure it out if was possible to cancel it prior to Rotschreck impeding it to resolve.
Game scenario is like this: Tzimisce A acts, Salubri AT B blocks. A play no cards and strikes for 3, vampire B plays Sculpt the Flesh at basic and Rotschreck. Now, I guess we all had that "you should have asked for Sculpt the Flesh to resolve because I can Death Seeker it/you are only canceling it now that you know I have Rotschreck" but that made me wonder if you can actually cancel that strike and what is the reach of that attempting verb on Rotschreck. In any other play I'd have said you can cancel it and if so, no Rotschreck but since Rotschreck "cancels" both strikes, I preferred asking. It was casual setting so not a big deal but I fear for the time when it happens on tournament.
Many thanks in advance
EDIT: mistake at locating post on proper section.
Rötschreck
Master: out-of-turn. Frenzy.
Put this card on a vampire when an opposing minion attempts to inflict aggravated damage on him or her, whether the damage would be successfully inflicted or not. Combat ends. This vampire is locked and sent to torpor. This vampire does not unlock as normal. During this vampire's next unlock phase, burn this card.
Sculpt the Flesh
Protean Strike: hand strike, aggravated.
Superior Protean Strike: hand strike at +1 damage, and put this card on the opposing minion. During their unlock phase, the attached minion burns 1 blood or life. Minions can burn this card as a +1 stealth action.
Death Seeker
A vampire can play only one Death Seeker each round.
Cancel a combat card played by the opposing minion as it is played, and its cost is not paid.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
26 Jun 2025 04:45 #114789
by KoRneeshon
Replied by KoRneeshon on topic Rotschreck question
From the rulebook:
So, IMO, A can play DS before B can play Rotschreck.
Sequencing
If two or more Methuselahs want to play a card or effect, the acting Methuselah plays first. At every stage, the acting Methuselah always has the opportunity (called "impulse") to play the next card or effect. So after playing one effect, they may play another and another. Once they are finished, the impulse passes to the next Methuselah in the following order: during combat or an action directed at a single Methuselah, the defending Methuselah first; during an action directed at a set of Methuselahs, those Methuselahs in clockwise order; during an undirected action, the prey first and the predator second. Then every other Methuselah in clockwise order gets the impulse until everyone passes. Note that if at any point any Methuselah uses a card or effect, the acting Methuselah again gets the impulse back.
So, IMO, A can play DS before B can play Rotschreck.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- KoRneeshon
-
- Offline
- Elder
-
Less
More
- Posts: 129
- Thank you received: 49
26 Jun 2025 18:58 - 26 Jun 2025 19:04 #114796
by inm8
Replied by inm8 on topic Rotschreck question
The above is correct, after StF is played the impulse goes back to A …only after A passes the impulse to B again would they be able to play Rötschreck if still applicable.
A strike has been announced.
Non of the above, it is played in the normal impulse window like most combat cards.
Hi
A) What constitutes an "attempt" by Rotschreck text?
A strike has been announced.
B) Is Rotschreck played after that declared strike "as played" window or is it played on the played window?
Non of the above, it is played in the normal impulse window like most combat cards.
Last edit: 26 Jun 2025 19:04 by inm8.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
Time to create page: 0.082 seconds
- You are here:
-
Home
-
Forum
-
V:TES Discussion
-
Rules Questions
- Rotschreck question