- Forum
- V:TES Discussion
- Rules Questions
- Outside the hourglass, majesty, disarm combo vs telepathic tracking
Outside the hourglass, majesty, disarm combo vs telepathic tracking
26 Aug 2025 04:09 #115270
by blackday
Okay, this is a long post because I had to paste all the relevant card texts. Anyways, the question goes like this. We all know by now the combo rush a vampire Trujah plays Outside the hourglass for 2 damage. Range is close. Strikes to end with majesty, combat ends disarm.
I have 3 interrelated questions about this combo.
1. My question does the telepathic tracking or psyche enable you to bypass this by preventing the combat ending? I was thinking no, since regardless if a new round or an entirely new combat started more damage was still inflicted as the round ended so disarm could still be played.
2. Follow up question. If the other vamp managed to play an aggravated damage and play Rötschreck as the Trujah plays Majesty he won't be able to play disarm right? As he is going to torpor so can't play the card.
3. If #2 is viable. Does the Trujah have a window to play undead persistence to stop from going to torpor and play disarm? And if so what happens after? He goes to torpor due to Rötschreck's effects?
Name: Outside the Hourglass
[HttB:C/B2]
Cardtype: Combat
Discipline: Temporis/Obfuscate
[obf] Strike: dodge.
[tem] Maneuver, or strike: dodge, with 1 optional maneuver.
[TEM] Only usable before range is determined. Inflict 2 damage on the opposing minion. A vampire can play only one Outside the Hourglass at superior each round.
Name: Majesty
[Jyhad:C, VTES:C, CE:C/PV4, Anarchs:PAB2, LoB:PI2, LotN:PS4, KoT:C/PV4, SP:LB4, FB:PTo4, V5:PTo6/PV6, NB:PTo6/PV6, V5C:PR4, 30th:6]
Cardtype: Combat
Cost: 1 blood
Discipline: Presence
I have 3 interrelated questions about this combo.
1. My question does the telepathic tracking or psyche enable you to bypass this by preventing the combat ending? I was thinking no, since regardless if a new round or an entirely new combat started more damage was still inflicted as the round ended so disarm could still be played.
2. Follow up question. If the other vamp managed to play an aggravated damage and play Rötschreck as the Trujah plays Majesty he won't be able to play disarm right? As he is going to torpor so can't play the card.
3. If #2 is viable. Does the Trujah have a window to play undead persistence to stop from going to torpor and play disarm? And if so what happens after? He goes to torpor due to Rötschreck's effects?
Name: Outside the Hourglass
[HttB:C/B2]
Cardtype: Combat
Discipline: Temporis/Obfuscate
[obf] Strike: dodge.
[tem] Maneuver, or strike: dodge, with 1 optional maneuver.
[TEM] Only usable before range is determined. Inflict 2 damage on the opposing minion. A vampire can play only one Outside the Hourglass at superior each round.
Name: Majesty
[Jyhad:C, VTES:C, CE:C/PV4, Anarchs:PAB2, LoB:PI2, LotN:PS4, KoT:C/PV4, SP:LB4, FB:PTo4, V5:PTo6/PV6, NB:PTo6/PV6, V5C:PR4, 30th:6]
Cardtype: Combat
Cost: 1 blood
Discipline: Presence
Strike: combat ends.
As above, and unlock this vampire before combat ends.
Name: Disarm
[Sabbat:R, SW:R, CE:PB, BH:PN, KMW:PAl, Third:R, NB2:PB1, NB3:PL1]
Cardtype: Combat
Discipline: Potence
Only usable at close range at the end of a round during which this vampire successfully inflicted more damage than the opposing vampire. Not usable by a vampire being burned or going to torpor.
[pot] Put this card on the opposing vampire and send them to torpor. The attached vampire gets -1 strength. They can burn 3 blood to burn this card. A vampire can have only one Disarm.
[POT] As above, but the attached vampire gets -2 strength.
Name: Psyche!
[Jyhad:U, VTES:U, FN:PA2, CE:U/PB, KMW:PAl2, Third:U, KoT:U/PB3/PT3]
Cardtype: Combat
Discipline: Celerity
[cel] Press.
[CEL] Only usable at the end of a round when both combatants are still ready and combat is about to end. After this round, begin another combat with the opposing minion.
Name: Telepathic Tracking
[SW:U, LoB:PO2, Third:U, SP:DoF3, NB:PTr2]
Cardtype: Combat
Cost: 1 blood
Discipline: Auspex
[aus] Press, only usable to continue combat. If another round of combat occurs, this vampire gets 1 optional maneuver that round.
[AUS] Only usable if both combatants are still ready and combat would end. Instead, start a new round.
Name: Rötschreck
[Jyhad:U, CE:U, Anarchs:PG, BH:PTr2, KMW:PB, LoB:PA, Third:PTz]
Cardtype: Master
Master: out-of-turn. Frenzy.
Put this card on a vampire when an opposing minion attempts to inflict aggravated damage on him or her, whether the damage would be successfully inflicted or not. Combat ends. This vampire is locked and sent to torpor. This vampire does not unlock as normal. During this vampire's next unlock phase, burn this card.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
26 Aug 2025 05:25 #115271
by the1andonlime
groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/GvxNYsYsWJ4/m/8PDeV_mQ8XEJ
Suaku
Inceptor Asian Continental Championship
興っ
www.youtube.com/SuakuOz
Replied by the1andonlime on topic Outside the hourglass, majesty, disarm combo vs telepathic tracking
Correct. Preventing a combat from ending does not prevent the combat round from going to the "End of Round" step, where Disarm can be played1. My question does the telepathic tracking or psyche enable you to bypass this by preventing the combat ending? I was thinking no, since regardless if a new round or an entirely new combat started more damage was still inflicted as the round ended so disarm could still be played.
The Trujah can play Disarm as they are not yet in torpor when the combat ends2. Follow up question. If the other vamp managed to play an aggravated damage and play Rötschreck as the Trujah plays Majesty he won't be able to play disarm right? As he is going to torpor so can't play the card.
groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/GvxNYsYsWJ4/m/8PDeV_mQ8XEJ
Moot. The Trujah cannot play Undead Persistence as they are not going to torpor until after the combat ends (Rotschreck card text), at which point, they cannot play combat cards3. If #2 is viable. Does the Trujah have a window to play undead persistence to stop from going to torpor and play disarm? And if so what happens after? He goes to torpor due to Rötschreck's effects?
Suaku
Inceptor Asian Continental Championship
興っ
www.youtube.com/SuakuOz
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- the1andonlime
-
- Offline
- Methuselah
-
Less
More
- Posts: 281
- Thank you received: 29
26 Aug 2025 05:41 #115272
by blackday
Replied by blackday on topic Outside the hourglass, majesty, disarm combo vs telepathic tracking
Thank you.
But just to ask another question basically in scenario 2 where the opposing vamp plays Rötschreck. Both of them will go to torpor?
One due to disarm, the other due to Rötschreck?
But just to ask another question basically in scenario 2 where the opposing vamp plays Rötschreck. Both of them will go to torpor?
One due to disarm, the other due to Rötschreck?
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
26 Aug 2025 06:09 #115273
by the1andonlime
Suaku
Inceptor Asian Continental Championship
興っ
www.youtube.com/SuakuOz
Replied by the1andonlime on topic Outside the hourglass, majesty, disarm combo vs telepathic tracking
CorrectThank you.
But just to ask another question basically in scenario 2 where the opposing vamp plays Rötschreck. Both of them will go to torpor?
One due to disarm, the other due to Rötschreck?
Suaku
Inceptor Asian Continental Championship
興っ
www.youtube.com/SuakuOz
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- the1andonlime
-
- Offline
- Methuselah
-
Less
More
- Posts: 281
- Thank you received: 29
- Forum
- V:TES Discussion
- Rules Questions
- Outside the hourglass, majesty, disarm combo vs telepathic tracking
Time to create page: 0.118 seconds
- You are here:
-
Home
-
Forum
-
V:TES Discussion
-
Rules Questions
- Outside the hourglass, majesty, disarm combo vs telepathic tracking