- Forum
- V:TES Discussion
- Rules Questions
- Aching Beauty / Terrifying Visage, in combination with other cards
Aching Beauty / Terrifying Visage, in combination with other cards
I have read that the damage does take place in combination with Change of target, Obedience and Horrific Countenance. [RTR 19991206] [LSJ 20091125]
Do the opponent take pool damage if i play Crocodile's Tounge and he fail his block attempt?
Do the opponent take pool damage if i play the new Hedonism?
In my undarstanding of Aching Beauty it takes action after a opponent say they attempt to block. But before any resolution? Is this the same as attempt to block?
It feels like the intention of the card as they always tend to be sold in decks together.
Can anyone cast some light on the sequencing surounding Aching Beauty so i can get a better understanding of all this?
Thanks
Name: Aching Beauty
Cardtype: Master
Clan: Toreador
Cost: 2 pool
Put this card on any Toreador. If this Toreador is blocked, the blocking minion's controller burns 1 pool before block resolution.
Name: Crocodile's Tongue
Cardtype: Action Modifier
Discipline: Auspex
Only usable if an ally or younger vampire attempts to block.
[aus] That attempt fails and that blocking minion's controller cannot attempt to block this action again. That blocking minion can burn 1 blood or life to cancel this card as it is played.
[AUS] As above, but canceling this card requires 1 additional blood or life.
(This is from reading on the new card,)
Name: Hedonism
Cardtype: Action Modifier
Only usable by a ready unlocked vampire other than the acting minion if a minion attempts to block.
[] That attempt fails and that blocking minion's controller cannot attempt to block this action again. Lock this vampire and the blocking minion, and queue a combat between them.
[] As above, but queue no combat.Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- Richard the other one
-
Topic Author
- Offline
- Childe
-
- Posts: 1
- Thank you received: 0
They are similar and work the same with regards to causing pool loss.I need help on clarification regardin when to trigger the effect from Aching Beauty and the new Terrifying Visage. (they look to bee much the same)
“If X is blocked, the blocking minion's controller burns 1 pool before block resolution.“
Correct, they are played in the same time window, when the action has been blocked, and thus AB/TV has triggered and have to be resolved.I have read that the damage does take place in combination with Change of target, Obedience and Horrific Countenance. [RTR 19991206] [LSJ 20091125]
No, failing the block attempt means the action is not blocked and thus doesn’t meet the condition of AB/TV (“ If X is blocked”).Do the opponent take pool damage if i play Crocodile's Tounge and he fail his block attempt?
Do the opponent take pool damage if i play the new Hedonism?
This is incorrect, an attempt to block is not to be equated to a successful block, which is what the condition is for AB/TV.In my undarstanding of Aching Beauty it takes action after a opponent say they attempt to block.
No, the meaning here is to explicitly state that the pool loss is to happen in the time window between the action being successfully blocked and the resulting next step which is block resolution (i.e. locking the blocker and entering into combat)But before any resolution? Is this the same as attempt to block?
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
I need help on clarification regardin when to trigger the effect from Aching Beauty and the new Terrifying Visage. (they look to bee much the same)
I have read that the damage does take place in combination with Change of target, Obedience and Horrific Countenance. [RTR 19991206] [LSJ 20091125]
Do the opponent take pool damage if i play Crocodile's Tounge and he fail his block attempt?
Do the opponent take pool damage if i play the new Hedonism?
In my undarstanding of Aching Beauty it takes action after a opponent say they attempt to block. But before any resolution? Is this the same as attempt to block?
It feels like the intention of the card as they always tend to be sold in decks together.
Can anyone cast some light on the sequencing surounding Aching Beauty so i can get a better understanding of all this?
Thanks
Its very simple. If a minion is blocked, aching beauty triggers. Please refer to the latest printings of cards to find out the most up-to-date text. For example, Change of target says "only usable if this minion is blocked."
Now if the card you play when action is blocked, has text that says that the action was NOT blocked, such as horrific countenance, hedonism, and other block fails, then aching beauty doesn't trigger. Note that these cards are essentially played when "action is about to be blocked". You can divide cards into two categories: those that say "action was blocked, but stuff happens.." and "action is not blocked". AB triggers with the former, not with the latter. If the block fails, then action was not blocked. Simple.
Since change of target doesn't say anything about action not being blocked, the other effects resolve including skipping of combat etc. But since the action remained blocked, aching beauty has a trigger that needs to be resolved even if there is no combat.
I'm not sure when exactly the pool has to be paid for AB, but in practice it doesn't really matter. At your earliest convenience, before you move on.
Smoking craters tell no tales.
—Tex talks Battletech
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- Bloodartist
-
- Away
- Antediluvian
-
- Posts: 981
- Thank you received: 170
- Forum
- V:TES Discussion
- Rules Questions
- Aching Beauty / Terrifying Visage, in combination with other cards
- You are here:
-
Home
-
Forum
-
V:TES Discussion
-
Rules Questions
- Aching Beauty / Terrifying Visage, in combination with other cards
