Action Fizzle with controller change during action
16 Nov 2025 01:18 - 16 Nov 2025 01:23 #115779
by Oracle.kid
Action Fizzle with controller change during action was created by Oracle.kid
Durga Syn wants to burn Stolen Police Cruiser which is on my prey's vampire. The action is blocked, combat ensues. Durga Syn uses their ability to steal the equipment and presses for another round of combat. During the second round, she plays Mirror Image to continue the action as if unblocked.
Will the action
Will the action
- fizzle, because the controller of Stolen Police Cruiser has changed during the action and the target methuselah has no Stolen Police Cruiser anymore.
- continue, and burn the Stolen Police Cruiser, because the action provided by the card does not mention the card's controller
Warning: Spoiler!
Type
Vampire
Clan
Ravnos - Capacity 9 - Group 4
Disciplines
(
)
Card Text
Independent: Durga Syn can burn 1 blood to strike: steal equipment with first strike. She does not lock for blocking an ally or a vampire with capacity 4 or less.
Vampire
Clan
Ravnos - Capacity 9 - Group 4
Disciplines
Card Text
Independent: Durga Syn can burn 1 blood to strike: steal equipment with first strike. She does not lock for blocking an ally or a vampire with capacity 4 or less.
Warning: Spoiler!
Stolen Police Cruiser
Type
Equipment
Card Text
Vehicle.
This Anarch gets +1 bleed. Allies and younger vampires get -1 intercept against this Anarch. Vampires can burn this card as a Ⓓ action that costs 1 pool; if that action is successful, this Anarch is locked and does not unlock as normal during their next unlock phase. A minion can have only one vehicle.
Type
Equipment
Card Text
Vehicle.
This Anarch gets +1 bleed. Allies and younger vampires get -1 intercept against this Anarch. Vampires can burn this card as a Ⓓ action that costs 1 pool; if that action is successful, this Anarch is locked and does not unlock as normal during their next unlock phase. A minion can have only one vehicle.
Last edit: 16 Nov 2025 01:23 by Oracle.kid.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- Oracle.kid
-
Topic Author
- Offline
- Neonate
-
Less
More
- Posts: 41
- Thank you received: 14
16 Nov 2025 10:18 #115781
by Bloodartist
Smoking craters tell no tales.
—Tex talks Battletech
Replied by Bloodartist on topic Action Fizzle with controller change during action
Stolen police cruisers ability doesn't specify that it must be an opponent who burns it. It just says "vampires can burn this card.." Therefore I would interpret that changing the controller doesn't matter. The action continues and the cruiser is burned.
This is kind of like burning your own smiling jack because its inconvenient.
This is kind of like burning your own smiling jack because its inconvenient.
Smoking craters tell no tales.
—Tex talks Battletech
The following user(s) said Thank You: extrala
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- Bloodartist
-
- Offline
- Antediluvian
-
Less
More
- Posts: 984
- Thank you received: 174
16 Nov 2025 10:54 - 16 Nov 2025 11:10 #115782
by Oracle.kid
Replied by Oracle.kid on topic Action Fizzle with controller change during action
We had the same discussion yesterday, I'm not as convinced though. The main reason is that the action changes its properties during resolution, denying eligible blockers their option to block (directed to undirected).
Also there is a ruling that D-actions are always directed at the controller as well as the card itself. From that perspective, the action directed at my prey to burn Stolen Police Cruiser cannot resolve anymore and should fizzle.
Also there is a ruling that D-actions are always directed at the controller as well as the card itself. From that perspective, the action directed at my prey to burn Stolen Police Cruiser cannot resolve anymore and should fizzle.
Last edit: 16 Nov 2025 11:10 by Oracle.kid.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- Oracle.kid
-
Topic Author
- Offline
- Neonate
-
Less
More
- Posts: 41
- Thank you received: 14
16 Nov 2025 11:43 #115783
by Ankha
Correct. It becomes undirected when it continues.
See groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/VQqyTY-nVFk/m/sNbrwFy_zJoJ
Replied by Ankha on topic Action Fizzle with controller change during action
Stolen police cruisers ability doesn't specify that it must be an opponent who burns it. It just says "vampires can burn this card.." Therefore I would interpret that changing the controller doesn't matter. The action continues and the cruiser is burned.
This is kind of like burning your own smiling jack because its inconvenient.
Correct. It becomes undirected when it continues.
See groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/VQqyTY-nVFk/m/sNbrwFy_zJoJ
It continues as an undirected action. Minions controlled by the prey and predator can try to block.We had the same discussion yesterday, I'm not as convinced though. The main reason is that the action changes its properties during resolution, denying eligible blockers their option to block (directed to undirected).
It changes from directed (against the card and the controller) to undirected.Also there is a ruling that D-actions are always directed at the controller as well as the card itself. From that perspective, the action directed at my prey to burn Stolen Police Cruiser cannot resolve anymore and should fizzle.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
Time to create page: 0.080 seconds
- You are here:
-
Home
-
Forum
-
V:TES Discussion
-
Rules Questions
- Action Fizzle with controller change during action
