file Khin Aye and Anarch Covert

25 Nov 2025 07:22 - 25 Nov 2025 07:23 #115866 by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic Khin Aye and Anarch Covert

OK, makes sense for Khin, but then Hackerspace text says:

This card comes into play with 1 counter for each Anarch you control. After an Anarch comes into play under your control, or after a vampire you control becomes Anarch, add 1 counter to this card. An Anarch you control can use these counters to pay some or all of the blood or pool cost of an equipment they equip.

If AC still triggers HS, it means AC has to come into play for a moment? Otherwise HS should be worded "After an Anarch is played (...)"?

AC "enters play" effect is a "as played" effect (that’s how crypt cards that are "played" are worded.)


Maybe there's room for improvement, but that's how it is.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
Last edit: 25 Nov 2025 07:23 by Ankha.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
25 Nov 2025 21:47 #115872 by Bloodartist
Hackerspace also says "...or after a vampire you control becomes anarch."
Isn't this what triggers Hackerspace in the convert-converts-someone case? Or does Hackerspace trigger twice?

I would personally recommend changing anarch converts text to say:
"As the convert enters play, instead you can remove him from the game to..."

I take notes from how magic handles so called "replacement effects" by using the word "instead". In other words, Event A triggers the ability but the card immediately retcons the situation to say that event B happens instead. So event A never happened even though it triggered the ability. I think Anarch convert would be a perfect candidate for such a wording.

Smoking craters tell no tales.
—Tex talks Battletech



The following user(s) said Thank You: Kilrauko

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
25 Nov 2025 23:35 #115873 by Kilrauko
Replied by Kilrauko on topic Khin Aye and Anarch Covert

Hackerspace also says "...or after a vampire you control becomes anarch."
Isn't this what triggers Hackerspace in the convert-converts-someone case? Or does Hackerspace trigger twice? ...


Twice for convert. There's over 20 pages of discussions over the years on this forum related to enters play and so forth but this one boils the original LSJ ruling and Hackerspace to one.

www.vekn.net/forum/rules-questions/74696-hackerspace-question?start=0#75351

Trust in Jan Pieterzoon.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.046 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum